Company logo

P&S Transportation reviews

2.5
(19)
$577 - $3,846/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$577 $1,206 $3,846
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review P&S Transportation

Share the salary you were paid at P&S Transportation

$

Ratings and Reviews

Current Employee - Feb 11, 2022

Dispatchers are great, no forced dispatch like most flatbed companies, great pay and decent home time. I run the northeast region and I’m loving it. No company is the best, you just gotta find what works for you and p&s works for me.

Pros

Great pay flexible runs & no force dispatch

Cons

Bare bone basic trucks

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Dec 27, 2021

Professional lairs and con artists.Stay away!They talk a good game but it's all lies.Will have you stuck in the road during holidays.And they wonder why they have a 65% turnover rate.And equipment abandoned everywhere

Pros

None!Complete sham artists running this outfit

Cons

Junk for trucks.Maintenance gets nasty when you report a problem.bad dot rating.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Mar 5, 2021

Dispatch and management blows. You’ll get chewed out for doing what’s right, out for doing wrong- I have been following company policy to the letter; and still get phone calls telling you what you did wrong. They will edit your logs to show HOS violations, even if using approved personal conveyance. Dispatch plays favorites, I don’t believe that they are honest about what loads pay, All deadhead miles are unpaid! Drivers are never appreciated... STAY AWAY!

Pros

Home time, benefits, choose your own loads

Cons

Dishonest Micromanage Breathe down your neck Cameras Automatic trucks

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Feb 9, 2021

Don't reccomend on any level.Theyre hiring anyone that has a Cdl and can pass a physical.They don't count total miles when assigning loads.If you try talking with them you get blackmailed.

Pros

Free lunch on Fridays..if there's any left.

Cons

Too many.Unreal expectations for Elogs and 65 mph trucks.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Sep 23, 2020

Mostly you can't beat the people at P & S Transportation. I worked there five years, and I had some trouble with a few dispatchers; generally just things drivers typically have to deal with from them. They don't always follow company policy, and DOT rules and regulations are not always foremost on their list. Of Course most dispatchers are not beyond telling a lot of bold faced lies. P & S dispatchers are no exception. All in all P & S people are about the best a driver can hope for in the industry. My real problems with P & S came with it's equipment, and a couple of the insurance companies it has chosen to provide coverage for it's drivers. The equipment no matter how new gets shoddier and shoddier all the time. The workman's compensation insurance and the short term disability insurance are almost worthless. They fight even the most legitimate claims. Every year on some Freightliner Trucks the manufacturer seems to be cutting some from production. One year it will be the skirting around the batteries and tanks. Next year it will be switch to a cheaper mattress, scrap interior support handles, or remove one of the arm rest off the seats. Heaven forbid they remove a safety mirrow from the drivers side fender, but that's something else they have done in the factory. They have done everything they can do to cut a buck here, or a few bucks there. P & S goes for cheap every time. I couldn't get a good truck out of them, and the last one; By the time I realized heat from under the dash was burning my leg it was too late. I had an oval shaped burn mark about the size of a 12 oz. glass on my right leg where I operated the throttle. It has taken over a year for that to heal, and it's not completely healed yet. They just can't leave shoddy trucks where they belong: The Factory Where It Was Made. The Seat in my last truck never fit my back, it never supported my back; It never even touched my back. Over a year of driving this new truck it broke down on me more than a couple times, and the lack of support in my back caused it to accumulate in pain. When my fifth vacation rolled around; I took off and went to the doctor. The truck was getting to me. When I got back from my vacation I hadn't gotten any better; Then I filed for workman's Compensation. Then I filed for the short term disability insurance. The insurance companies P & S had chosen to provide coverage for it's drivers refused to pay out anything to help me with my domestic expenses and medical bills. My leg was burned and my back was hurting all due to that shoddy equipment P & S had to have. It took me a few months, but I did finally get the short term disability insurance to pay; Not however without having to deal with a lot of trouble from both insurance companies. I could issue a few more complaints about P & S, but I'm not really interested in cherry picking this company. It's like I said: The people there are good people, and if it hadn't been for a lady there in Human Relations; I probably would have never seen a dime. P & S insurance companies were not going to fill any of their obligations; Not even after 5 years of payments. Sincerely, Clifton

Pros

People back at corporate are as good as any in the industry.

Cons

Shoddy Trucks; Dispatchers don't always follow company policies, or abide with DOT Regulations; Benefits are not guaranteed.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Connecticut on Feb 11, 2022

$1,442 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Dublin, GA on Dec 27, 2021

$923 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in on Mar 5, 2021

$1,154 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - In CDL School CDL Experience

Surveyed in Lawrence, MA on Oct 27, 2020

$1,250 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in San Antonio, Texas on Sep 23, 2020

$865 per week

Current Employee

No

Discussions

Need Help-P&S Transportation

Zander

Mar 8, 2016

Need Help-P&S Transportation

cameras in all of the company trucks. i am doing the lease purchase and there is not one in mine. they have asked if i wanted one to which i flatly replied no. as far as home time, i started out in the houston, tx terminal. even if i asked a month or more in advance, found that i had to be reminding the dispatch. same thing with new dispatcher out of B'ham i am with now. freight has been slow as of late even though we were told it picks up after February. here lately it seems the lease purchase and O/O drivers have been getting less and less on the loads. I have yet to get a company driver to talk with me and compare line haul numbers to see if the loads they get offered are more than what is offered to the l/p and o/o drivers. if your truck goes down they cover repairs and you have to make enough to get the $1000 cap they put you on. I have found though they like to bandaid some of the stuff. i know carriers like to do this, but if you are buying the truck it should be your decision if you want to get repairs done.

Need Help-P&S Transportation

Zander

Mar 8, 2016

Need Help-P&S Transportation

I have a buddy who pulls for them out of Bham,al. an he's hardly ever home. Maybe 2-3 times a month an not by choice either.

p & s transportation - birmingham, al

beegle

Jan 13, 2014

p & s transportation - birmingham, al

Most of the loads I pulled were well below what they advertised.

I was a Northeast dedicated driver,home every weekend if I wanted.
A lot of it depends on your dispatcher,which is like that everywhere I suppose.

I did better when pulling out of town,usually down south coming back to the northeast always paid well.

Look for a guy on here called expressolane he will set you straight,he was with P&S for quite awhile.

FLATBED COMPANIES THAT HIRE IN NORTHEAST

CJ58

Oct 25, 2015

FLATBED COMPANIES THAT HIRE IN NORTHEAST

Prepare to get no where fast.
62 mph company trucks last I heard.

Most of the guys I run into are happy with them though.

P&s transport.looks good to me.

jimjam38

Jan 30, 2016

P&s transport.looks good to me.

P&S has always been a pilot or loves company for fuel. 
For PM work, they did prefer speedco over T/A. 

Fuel in Georga and Illinois has been a call in for authorization for years. Most of the time it will be limited to 50 or 75 gallons. 

Back when Mt Vernon passed the city tax on diesel fuel, they cut off all of Illinois. 

One of the gripes is trailer washing. They will not pay to have any trailer washed unless you run a garbage load.


These things are not new for P&S.

P&s transport.looks good to me.

jimjam38

Jan 30, 2016

P&s transport.looks good to me.

Owner operator running out of Pennsylvania we just got told no more load refuses or choices it's now take it or leave it