Company logo

TransAm reviews

1.7
(31)
$350 - $1,923/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$350 $913 $1,923
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review TransAm

Share the salary you were paid at TransAm

$

Ratings and Reviews

Former Employee - Jan 21, 2023

They're motto trucking is a noble profession. Don't expect to get paid like a noble not even as a lease driver. You'll be paid like a peasant. Consider the fact that those gas stations attendance get paid more than you do. Expected be stranded. This company should be put out of business completely 100%. 95% of there trailers wond pass a dot inspection. Suggestion don't even ever look at this company even if you are a new driver

Pros

You can get enough sleep

Cons

Pan handle for you food neve make any money

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Dec 9, 2022

Hello I worked so far for 3 weeks for the company they have lies set up in all places have to be careful how you move with this company they're not your friends at all. bunch of lies the trainers push you to get the lease selling you a dream not worth the hassle or headache at all. as a lease they give you the ###### loads without consideration. i'm doing 3 months to move on to a different company.

Pros

none at all

Cons

everything wrong with this company

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Dec 4, 2022

I'm gong to shoot ut to you straight stay away from this company. It's bad all the way around now thats all I will say and I've been driving for 19 years, go if you want but I'm telling you dont.

Pros

Move somewhere else

Cons

Bad Comoany

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Nov 10, 2022

I have worked for TransAm for 1 year 10 months. I needed experience before finding a better job. I knew it was a terrible company before I started working for them but they were actually way worse than I expected. It is very rare to hit 3000 miles per week. I've only done it 1 time in the almost 2 years of employment. They start you out at $0.31 per mile. And im currently up to $0.365 cents per mile. The driver managers are useless. If something goes happens where you need to contact them it will be between 30-60 minutes before you speak with anyone. DO NOT APPLY HERE!

Pros

Newer equipment 6 days/month hometime

Cons

1.Driver managers are useless 2.Communication is terrible. You will repeat the same info to different parts of the company over and over again. 3.Service Failures- a service failure is when you fail to deliver a load on time or fail to pickup on time including relays with other drivers. If you have a service failure in the past 30 days you won't be eligible for their break even pay that they give out if you fail to make enough in that calender month. They want to give you service failures to

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Oct 24, 2022

These dudes are clowns. Trailers are trash. Multiple times had to call payroll because my checks were shortened...always with " oops sorry response". You have to hound them for layover pay, they will give you a service failure for anything. And thier "guaranteed" weekly salary they try and sell you on is all lies. Lastly new drivers fresh out of school they WILL NOT train you. Your training is a quick road test, obstacle course in their lot, and a week long power point class and off you go. I can't count how many times I saw a Transam driver struggle to park trailer it was hilariously sad.

Pros

My 34 hours home

Cons

These guys are really bad. Don't know how still in business.

Home Time
No Rating
Equipment and Maintenance
No Rating
Dispatchers and Managers
No Rating

Salary Surveys

Owner Operator - 1-5 Months CDL Experience

Surveyed in San Antonio, Texas on Jan 21, 2023

$692 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 2 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Olathe, KS on Nov 10, 2022

$577 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 4 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Houston, TX on Oct 24, 2022

$900 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 1-5 Months CDL Experience

Surveyed in Kansas City, MO on Aug 5, 2022

$850 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 1-5 Months CDL Experience

Surveyed in Tampa, FL on Jul 5, 2022

$800 per week

Current Employee

No

Discussions

Trans Am as seen by Broke Down 69

Army91W

Aug 7, 2016

Trans Am as seen by Broke Down 69

I am a former TA driver also truck 29012 from May 2014 to June 2015. I enjoyed my time with TA. Keep in mind its an apprenticeship of sorts. You will make a paycheck as opposed to 98 percent of the lease drivers. You will want to move on after 6-12 months. You will do many swaps that may cut into your miles and sometimes you may benefit from the swaps. As a company driver, you will need to do what they need you to do. Its ok. Remember its a foot in the door into the industry. An apprenticeship! To me, trucking has been a godsend, a salvation and a deliverance of sorts. I love what I do. The traveling, interacting with shippers/receivers, even sleeping in the truck. The TA trucks are nicely spec'd! When I was there we could only run 62, but then at a Raleigh NC KW dealer, they turned mine up to 65. 

The reason TA swaps so much is to a) Insure on time delivery and b) to help you get your hometime ontime. They were pretty good at it. 

Trans Am as seen by Broke Down 69

Wooly Rhino

Aug 5, 2016

Trans Am as seen by Broke Down 69

Satellite radio (you have to pay for that yourself, but I can handle that), Satellite tv with HBO and NFL Sunday Ticket and a DVR, refrigerator, cb and an inverter. 96" condo cab that a guy 6'4" can stand all the way up in and to top it all off it's a KW. Pay sucks as all your second tier companies do but I'll be very comfortable while I rack up the time and miles it'll take to be hired by a top tier, well paying company.

Trans Am as seen by Broke Down 69

Big Don

Aug 11, 2016

Trans Am as seen by Broke Down 69

Do learn that manual!! Know it backwards and forwards. Only way to know if their screwing you or not. Training can be spotty, and that manual can truly help you out.I did my 1st comcheck, right out of the book.

Make sure you know how to get into the employee system to check pay. Remember, they are only required to keep a copy of your logs for 6 months. Ask how you can get a download of it. You'll need it for tax purposes.

Trans Am as seen by Broke Down 69

Ex-Con-Trucker

Aug 15, 2016

Trans Am as seen by Broke Down 69

spent all my years as a company driver with transam. Transam is designed to keep their fleet at 70% lease drivers and 30% company drivers.
Company drivers do a lot of swaps (repower load). When you get a swap it probably won't be because load is on time. In order to make sure you don't get blamed for the late load you have to let your dispatcher know over qualcom (treq) that it will be late and it's previous drivers fault. It's best to make sure your DM knows on mon thru fri. The Night and weekend dispatch may not make notes on who caused late load.

Trans Am as seen by Broke Down 69

bamalife123

Sep 1, 2016

Trans Am as seen by Broke Down 69

Main issue with the hometime request is that you enter your request by qualcom/treq unit, then that request goes into their computer system to see what days are open. I believe only 25% of drivers can be on hometime at one time. So drivers will put request in 3 weeks or more ahead of time. They tell you to request 8 days ahead but you would not get days you want in that short of time frame.
(If you want 4 days off such as friday to monday. You request thursday at 2001/8:01 pm till Tuesday at 0759/7:59 am.) This way you end up getting 5 days at home and you can always tell your DM you can't leave till a day later. (excuses; doctor, lawyer, dog ate homework, etc.)

TransAm

Adrienna Brown

Apr 6, 2016

TransAm

the other part that you need to look into is truck speed. I'm governed at 65 and I pass Trans Am trucks all the time, just something to think about

TransAm

Adrienna Brown

Apr 6, 2016

TransAm

They have a 11 day training program for newbies and then they let them go on their own.
They do push lease , all you have to do is refuse a lease.
Just stay company.
They have great trucks KW 680 & 700's
Fridge , APU and I think inverters.
The swaps come because people run out of hours so they give their load to someone who as hours and then you will take their load that still has plenty of time on it.

TransAm

ethos

Apr 6, 2016

TransAm

TransAm at least has top of the line equipment with all the driver ammenities.

TransAm

Adrienna Brown

Apr 7, 2016

TransAm

Trucks at transam are governed at 62 if ur company 65 if u lease which I don't recommend at all they are scam artists

TransAm

Steven W

Apr 17, 2016

TransAm

The trucks are good and you get the direct tv, so resets won't be too boring. You will average about 2700 miles per week. My advice is go company for at least 3 months, even tho they will push lease on you hard. No sense learning how to manage your time and fuel on your dime when you can do it on theirs. Yes, the lease always sounds good, I mean .84 instead of .31, but untill you learn time management and fuel management, you'll make more getting that .31cpm.
Otherwise they aren't too bad a company to work for as starter companies go. After 6 months to a year you can then go about anywhere and start making more.

TransAm

Steven W

Apr 17, 2016

TransAm

TransAm has a terminal in Rockwall Texas, a suburb outside of Dallas. If you do go to TransAm, you may want to move from Houston to the Dallas area, to be much closer to the terminal. During home time, you could park your truck at the terminal for both safety and repairs / maintenance that may be needed on the truck. 

TransAm

Steven W

Aug 3, 2016

TransAm

Can't say nothing bad about them at this point. I started out lease, first check was $727 after all expenses for 2725 miles. Little less miles the next week but will get close to 3000 this week.

But if you want to spend your time in truck stops or 4 days at home, lease probably isn't a good idea.

First 3 days are classroom, the next week 4 days of pad, backing etc. Then 11 days out with a trainer. Was worried at first about only 11 days, but if you got common sense you'll be fine when u got your own truck.

I'll keep this updated for those thinking of leasing and let you know how things go. Heard a lot of bad things but so far I got no complaints, but then I'm not sitting but driving. I mean that's what I get paid for and a sitting truck makes no money.