Air Chute Repair

Discussion in 'Refrigerated Trucking Forum' started by LandslideRich, Jul 27, 2017.

1. LandslideRich

LandslideRich Light Load Member

Jan 13, 2017
    Charlotte, NC
    Some of the little pop in Fasteners that hold my air shoot up have worked their way out. Not sure if they had help from a careless forklift operator but when I go to snap them back in it seems the holes have gotten a little bigger and they won't stay in place. Does anyone have a suggestion as to how I can tighten those holes up so I can reuse the same fasteners?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. STexan

STexan Road Train Member

Oct 3, 2011
    Longview, TX
    I could not tell you. Being a company driver, I've had to take a few in to a local trailer shop or tk or carrier dealer where they'd replace the entire chute.

I once used some thick 2-sided tape I carry where I left the peel off backing mostly ON and carefully stuck it the end of a load lock (no ladder) than affixed the other side to a chute corner, then stuck it in place. Thinking back, I can't believe I got that to work logistically but somehow it worked.

That held for a few months until I had to drop it

4. gokiddogo

gokiddogo Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2012
    Ontario Canada
    Gorilla tape
    or if you have a new chute installed you can velcro both sides front to back and that also holds it on and can be removed easily if you need the extra space at the top for a dry load. My last trailer had that, worked fine.

Snailexpress and LandslideRich Thank this.
  5. lilillill

lilillill Sarcasm... it's not just for breakfast

Nov 7, 2007
    Possum Booger, Alabama
    Fill the hole with polyurethane Loctite PL S40 window caulk or S30 Flashing cement. Then push the plastic rivet in. It won't come back out. Obviously leave a few hours for it to cure.