Things to have when going solo

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Lpirtle, Dec 15, 2019.

1. Lpirtle

Lpirtle Light Load Member

Oct 11, 2019
    Owensboro, ky
    Apologies if there is already a thread on this, couldn't find the answer by searching so here it is.
    Im expecting to go solo sometime next week. I have plenty of experience in training (Three months worth of training with Rohel and Jrayl at this point.), but no experience in running solo.
    What should I have to put in my assigned truck when I go solo? I know of a few things; CB, TV, Fridge, and microwave. Just wondered if there is anything else I am missing in my to get list.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. w.h.o

w.h.o Road Train Member

Jan 10, 2011
    Chicago, il
    sleeping bag that can handle cold weather. Sometimes your bulk heater won't work and you cant idle. Bring an aux cord or something to play it on your truck speaker so u can listen to audiobook, podcast or music. Obviously gps and dash cam

4. Moose1958

Moose1958 Road Train Member

Dec 17, 2010
    Williesburg, Virignia
    Because new drivers can get worn out pieces of crap for a truck, I suggest for the first six months to stay as light as you can. There are many drivers out there who have had to leave their belongings and get on a bus headed for a replacement tractor. Some of the said drivers have never found their things. The average mega carrier could not give a rats behind about your property. Give that some serious thought!

5. Lpirtle

Oct 11, 2019
    Owensboro, ky
    Sleeping bag makes sense. Its pretty cold up here in Northern indiana. What GPS would you recommend? Ive looked at Randy Mcnally as well as Garman so far. (The truck GPS version of course.)

6. Lpirtle

Oct 11, 2019
    Owensboro, ky