What do you prefer

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Arizona Man, Mar 18, 2018.

1. Arizona Man

Arizona Man Bobtail Member

Mar 9, 2018
    What do you think is the all around better truck Freightliner ,Volvo or International ? I'm talking about the motor on upgrades and downgrades ,automatic or manual , gas mileage and what about the sleeper cab.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. I glide 47

I glide 47 Road Train Member

Jun 3, 2017
    That is a can of worms

QuietStorm, Woodys, Dan.S and 6 others Thank this.
  4. Farmerbob1

Farmerbob1 Road Train Member

Jan 17, 2017
    I'm not sure you understand trucks very well. I'm no expert on motors and transmissions, but I am fairly sure that most truck manufacturers can install any major manufacturer's motor and transmission in a truck.

The main differences between trucks of the same class are cosmetic or comfort related.

I have driven mostly Freightliners and Kenworths. Freightliner storage space seems better to me, especially near the driver's seat, but the desk in a Freightliner is a horrible, cheap thing compared to the nice Kenworth desk.

Kenworth has a shelf that is actually big enough to put a 700 watt microwave in, and secure it. Freightliner shelving is too small for any microwave I have ever found.

But, that said, sleeper cab furniture can be modified fairly significantly. It might be possible to replace a standard Freightliner shelf module with one that will fit a small microwave.

The question is very complex, and I am afraid it really cannot be answered.on such a broad scale. A more focused request would be more likely to get responses.

Dan.S, stwik, LGarrison and 1 other person Thank this.
  5. supersnackbar

supersnackbar Road Train Member

Aug 19, 2007
    Your Town, USA