Company logo

Swift Transportation reviews

2.5
(77)
$300 - $5,096/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$300 $981 $5,096
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review Swift Transportation

Share the salary you were paid at Swift Transportation

$

Ratings and Reviews

Former Employee - Jun 22, 2022

My husband and I went to school and worked at Swift as a team drivers on a dedicated account. We had a good experience with Swift the reason that we aren't with them now, is because I needed to be closer to home for personal reasons. I came across this reviews and they aren't accurate we never had a problem with getting paid nor with not enough miles or with our truck. swift gives new trucks to their new drivers and they maintain the trucks on regular basis actually they are really stricts about bringin the truck for maintenance otherwise they put you on detention on road service is excellent. They have excellent communication with the drivers. Safety department is a little bit too much but probably is for the driver's safety. And probably they don't want us to damage their trucks either.

Pros

Swift terminals almost every where you go. And great communication between managers and driver's

Cons

Sensitive cameras, safety deparment a little bit too much.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Jun 3, 2022

Well I worked for swift the intermodal division. Most of the trucks were junk. I did get home everyday. It was advertised as an average of 1700 but it really was around 1100 gross. I would do about 1500 miles weekly. Most of the loads were containers.

Pros

You got home everyday you wanted to

Cons

The pay wasn't as promised

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - May 2, 2022

As a Driver Qualifications Leader I left my position with one of the reasons to become a Driver, but one of the reasons I left the Sumner Office was the serious lack of customer service to drivers by Driver Leaders (ignored at the window, and the attitude of "let someone else help them) at the Sumner terminal. They could use professional Total Quality Management Training and Customer Service Training. As a Driver my first truck was a Volvo, dirty and I had to clean it before I moved in (living out of the truck). It had several issues with Zonar as soon as I got in it. In the shop 4 times in just the first couple weeks. The mapping NEVER worked, sending me literally in circles every single time. I purchased a trucker GPS just to be able to get to my destinations. Then breakdowns started happening and I was told I had to much down time as if it was my fault. During my training with a mentor I wasn't given the $1,000 guaranteed pay, nor was it ever back paid as I was told. I also received breakdown pay maybe once or twice. I was told 3 weeks in that the new terminal manager wanted me to change trucks "before the Volvo killed me" (who knows what that meant).My Driver Leader promised me a Freightliner. Three weeks went by and I got keys to an International, filthy dirty again. After waiting 4 days for their "professional cleaner" I cleaned 2 trucks (they could have used the one I moved out of as an expectation). Only to find out their "professional cleaner" is the Shop Manager who they pay $150 on the side to get it done. The cleaning supplies sat on the same seat for all 4 days and I was parked next to that truck the whole time, nobody cleaned one surface, window or floor. I was disrespected by a Driver Leader when I called in numbers to a trailer, treated like an idiot, "We don't have that trailer". My reaction after two months of #### with the Sumner Office..."let me take a picture for you". I wouldn't have walked into that office and blown up on a Driver Leader in front of the whole office for no reason. After leaving with my International for the first pick up, there were brake problems. The Safety Manager was instrumental in coming over and helping me check out the truck. We determined it was safe to drive, which it was. Made my destination from Sumner to Salt Lake City, there I had problems with the king pin. I took it to the mechanic noting the International was taking a long time to get to 120 psi. It was checked and I was told everything was fine and I was good to go. Got to my destination, doing yard moves at a customer and again couldn't get a trailer off of me. I'd successfully done it once, but couldn't manage to get the second one. It took a call to OnRoad (awesome customer service support) to get me unhooked and going, but I did tell them that I finally heard an air brake leak. I made it back to Sumner. BUT I was told to take it to Love's to get it fixed on a Sunday. I was at that point ready to go when I checked my bank account. No pay in my account for the week. I packed up my belongings, now homeless. My frustration, the anxiety, the serious lack of customer service by Driver Leaders, the lack of maintenance on two vehicles, the payroll issues was just all to much to take. I quit. The only way I'd even consider staying is if they moved me to a terminal of my choice, gave me a well maintained Freightliner and gave me my back pay along with last weeks pay. I have advocated for the good changes at SWIFT for months, only to be discouraged, lied to, frustrated and now not paid. I do believe in the mission, I have a really hard time believing all this has happened to me of all people. String of bad luck and circumstances. Would accept continued employment if they could make this right.

Pros

Denver Terminal is the exception in customer service (one I have been to). They should be the model for SWIFT. With exception to Jurupa Valley showers, all of the facilities are really nice.

Cons

All noted above.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Apr 19, 2022

Worst company to work for. They rip you off, dispatch will leave you to reset twice in a week sometimes. Forget about making appointments or birthdays or holidays, they won’t get you home for that in time either. If you leave them they will try anything to get you back but tell future employers they would not rehire! Go thru ANYONE but these guys. I make 2250 a week with my now employer and swift asks me to come back and work for 1000 a week guaranteed for only 6 months LOL ????

Pros

They fix your blow outs within 12hrs

Cons

Everything

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Jan 28, 2022

Great job but my trainer kept verbally sexually harassing me. They need more women to train women. Anytime gravity makes your truck go faster than the set speed they get super worked up.

Pros

Cons

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 6-11 Months CDL Experience

Surveyed in Oklahoma City, OK on Jun 22, 2022

$2,846 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 6-11 Months CDL Experience

Surveyed in Baltimore, MD on Jun 3, 2022

$1,100 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 1-5 Months CDL Experience

Surveyed in Sumner, WA on May 2, 2022

$1,000 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 4 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Phoenix, AZ on Apr 19, 2022

$700 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 3 Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in Conley, GA on Jan 28, 2022

$692 per week

Current Employee

No

Discussions

Questions On Swift Transportation

New Driver' Kevin

Mar 4, 2013

Questions On Swift Transportation

Q: I'am finally done with all my documents now and is ready to hit the road. The only thing now I dont have is a passport. Iam starting next week Monday at Millington, TN at the academy. I dont know how the program works and not familiar with it. I already have my Cdl permit. 

(1.) - On hometime where will the truck be parked? Some companies dont allow drivers to take their equipments home so I need to know this info
(2.) - How many weeks out over the road?
(3.) - Miles solo drivers average?
(4.) - When do drivers get paid?
(5.) - How much will I expect to make a week solo
(6.) - How fast are company trucks?
(7.) - Passenger policy?
(8.) - What type of trucks does Swift currently have in their fleet and how old are they?
(9.) - How is the 3 week program over at Millington TN?

 

A: Truck can be parked at a truck stop or a empty lot if 1 is available near your home I have heard some terminals if u live with 100mioes they have to be park at term don't know I don't live near 1


otr at least 12 days but if u go home very 2weeks don't exspect to make much stay out at least 24 days to make money

I averaged 3000 miles but I'm a hard runner this depends on u I would figure on 2500 miles a week to see if u can handle it 1 day off for every 6 out 4 days off max can't keep them for later they just disappear if not used



payday is every Tuesday Andy tripsempty by midnight Wedsday on on the next week pay


Pay any where from $300 to $1400 a week depends on you how well u run and how much u wanna sit or get stuck baby sitting freight I average $1000 a week $600 Hometime weeks.

trucks are 62 but If u wanna lease 68

$30 a month anyone can come they say they do background check they don't oh and they have to be at least 12 years old

Volvos, freight liners, Kenworths 2008 and up exspect a older 1 to start maybe u may get lucky I was given a brand new truck after 8 months keep safety rating good and no preventabes help.

no clue about millington sorry.

swift is a good starter company good luck to ya

Swift Target dedicated Florida

Tunahead

May 18, 2016

Swift Target dedicated Florida

Q: My brother has been solo with Swift for years. I am getting my CDL on my own next month, maybe July. We plan to team , if tolerable, and supervision has already offered a position to us out of a Target dc in Florida. Can we get enough miles for this to be worth it? Thanks in advance.

 

A: If they are like the one in Texas that used to run out of Ft. Worth, now out of Denton I believe, the team trucks are always moving to and from their deliveries. I haven't talked to anyone in a couple of years, but they were very happy then.

Swift Training

Thull

Jan 7, 2016

Swift Training

Q: So I just got off the phone with a recruiter at swift. I'm looking to get CDL training & she gave me some info about the school & training.when asked about starting pay she told me between 35-37 cents per mile to start. I was just wondering if anyone here knows this to be truth? Or do you think she just told me this in order to get me in their school? Also she stated that after the 3 weeks of schooling then you get your CDL. Once you have your CDL you go out with a trainer for 200 hours. My question on that is about how long is 200 hours? How long can it take to complete that training with the trainer? & lastly I asked about home time & she told me 2 weeks out then 2 days of home time. Anyone know this to be true? Thanks in Advance!

 

A: It's all true, a friend of mine currently works there. The starting pay depends on division. DRY, Reefer , FB, Don't think you can do intermodal right away. 

If you get a trainer that dosent waste your time about a month and a half.

Hometime is a day for every week out, if you take more than three days they may take your truck and give it to another driver. Far as I know they won't fire you for it though.

Make sure during orientation you get it straight what division you want. Otherwise they will probably put you in whatever the flavor of the day is. That's the last oppritunity to switch till you do 90solo days.

Applied with swift...

FireFighter_02

Mar 9, 2016

Applied with swift...

Q: I just applied wih swift as I've been out of cdl school since early 2014 and haven't used my cdl yet, however the time has come that I need to make more money. Swift seemed to be the only ones that would take me, so I'm hoping things work out, I have a few questions for current swift drivers 
1. Have the driver facing cameras affected your ability to do your job? 
2. How much time will I spend with a trainer and what will I be doing when I'm not driving? 
3. I haven't drove a truck in 2 years so I'm worried I won't remember pre trip things or be bad at shifting again, I never got used to the double clutching I could always float with no issues but I would grind when I double clutched 
4. When I go out on my own for the first time, will there be someone I can call if I get in a hard place? 
5. Is the pay enough to live on? 
6. Where is orientation and how long? 
I haven't spoke to my recruiter yet so maybe she will cover some of this for me but I would like to hear you guys experiences with swift.

 

A: 1. I don't have one yet, but I doubt it will hinder my abilities.
2. When you are not driving you will either be studying or sleeping or eating or showering or...
Figure 6-8 weeks with your trainer (mentor, as they are called at Swift).
3. I doubt they will simply put you with a trainer at first. You will need a refresher course, which means doing the whole school thing again.
4. You can always call your DM, or ECT if your DM isn't on duty. You can call shippers/receivers for directions if you need to. There are always options, even if it calling the local police for help getting out of some where you shouldn't be.
5. That depends on how much you need to live on.
6. That depends on where you are in the country. Orientation is usually 3 days.

Swift - A journey in the making

Bluess

Dec 20, 2015

Swift - A journey in the making

You will probably be out of Syracuse ... Always had a positive experience there ... shop is good and the terminal manager was very driver focused - he went well beyond what I expected to help me out at one time.

Get in an snoop around ... I a lot of Canada stuff is run out of there ... basically run between Canada and Syracuse

Does Swift use automatics out of the academy?

Xzay

Jul 5, 2016

Does Swift use automatics out of the academy?

Q: I know the academy you test and practice on Manuals.
Take ya 
cdl test in a manual.
But whats after that?
I know they said we have a road test in the morning, is this on a auto or manual?
What about with your trainer and your own truck?

 

A: The mentor program is going 100% auto. All new mentors have to have auto trucks. The only sticks are those already in the program.

Academy is still doing sticks, and will likely continue to do so, so their graduates don't have the auto only restriction on their license.

Swift Training

Moosetek13

Feb 2, 2016

Swift Training

It's was great training great instructors. Fast paced but nothing hard. Plenty of backing practice maybe 3-4 hours total drive time. Could be more, could be less depending on size of class so take advantage of every chance you get to drive to learn to shift & downshift

Swift Training

Moosetek13

Mar 26, 2016

Swift Training

I thought their contract terms were strange the first time I read them but once I compared them to the terms other megas have, they probably have one of the more realistic contacts out there. Most carriers offer tuition reimbursement at a rate of $150 a month or $1,800 a year, yet value their in-house training program at $6,000 to $9,000 a year, quite a discrepancy. I know Swift actually deducts money from your check weekly, but they are the only company I have seen that actually credits anything weekly or monthly against the full tuition amount. I think I saw 2 other carriers (maybe Prime and Roehl?) that knocked a chunk off after 6 months, but with everyone else, if you leave after 360 days you still owe the full amount.

I know they get a bad rap on this site and others, but I think they would be a good choice to train with and drive with for someone starting out. If you can get past the cameras!!

Thoughts on Swift Transportation?

Lepton1

Aug 2, 2015

Thoughts on Swift Transportation?

Your experience with Swift will depend entirely on your home terminal. Every terminal runs a little different. I've heard stories about guys who get counselled for floating gears. I float 99% of the time and nobody's said a thing to me about it. 

If you have a good terminal and a good DL, your experience can be just fine. Make your pickups and deliveries on time and you'll hardly ever have to talk to anyone from the company

Does swift allow misdemeanors?

BryceE720

Dec 31, 2015

Does swift allow misdemeanors?

Q: Does swift allow you to have misdemeanors?

 


A: Yes they do. I had two misdeamenors for smoking weed in 1992. Granted they were over 20 years old when I signed on but they still knew about them and I had to talk to the safety department.