Heavy Haul Pusher Axles

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by HvyHal Gam3ing, May 26, 2021.

1. HvyHal Gam3ing

HvyHal Gam3ing Light Load Member

May 2, 2021
    Angier, nc
    I run heavy haul for a living. I typically do 120,000lbs on 6 axles or even 132,000lbs on 7. The truck I drive is a W900 with a drop axle in front of the drives. When Inrun the 7 axle loads, i use the the pusher on the truck as well as the terailer. The trailer im not worried about because the suspension leveler works to all airbags so pressure equals out on all axles when the drop axle is down. But on the tractor, the leveler only works to the drive axles and the pusher is adjusted manually. So naturally, increasing pusher axle prusher puts more weight on the drop axle tires and takes some off of the drive. Sadly, my pusher axle guage is broken. But as a general rule, im wondering what is a good balance between pusher in drive axle. Currently, when I haul up to 132,000 my drive suspenion gauge goes well over 100psi. That seems a bit much, but of course i have no clue what the pusher is doing. If increase pusher to try and reduce the drives, the truck rattles like crazy because of flat spots.

so obviously i need to fix both, but when i do get them fixed, what is a good balance on axle pressures?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Phantom Trucker

Phantom Trucker Medium Load Member

Jan 11, 2016
    Calgary, AB
    I put the least amount of weight on my pusher as possible. Whatever weight my drives are over by, that’s all I put on the pusher. (Sometimes it’s only 2-3,000 pounds).

100psi sounds way over on your drives. I’d be getting that gauge fixed ASAP; in the meantime it’s probably a good idea to find a scale and check your axle weights.