2012 Freightliner Cascadia-code CAB33

Discussion in 'Freightliner Forum' started by Lady Quapp, Aug 11, 2011.

  1. Lady Quapp

    Lady Quapp Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Location:
    Wyoming
    My husband calls me to find out what code CAB33 means. He did say his air conditioning has stopped working. Any ideas? We have only had this truck 3 days. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

    *smiles* The adventures of trucking. *smiles*
     
  2. FYDA FREIGHTLINER CINCY

    FYDA FREIGHTLINER CINCY Light Load Member

    Messages:
    270
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Location:
    Cincinnati, ohio
    all that code means is he has a sam cab code. sam cab controls almost everything in the cab.
     
  3. Elroythekid

    Elroythekid Heavy Load Member

    Messages:
    757
    Thanks Received:
    289
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Halifax Nova Scotia
    Tell him he "Will have to live with it" it will get him ready for his trips to the dealer... Because he will hear it again...and again.... And again... Welcome to Cascadia!
     
  4. Lady Quapp

    Lady Quapp Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Our freightliner dealer fixed it quickly and he is back on the road now.
     
  5. Elroythekid

    Elroythekid Heavy Load Member

    Messages:
    757
    Thanks Received:
    289
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Halifax Nova Scotia
    Wow what dealer was that?? 2 dealers here have worked on my CAB 249 code and have given up. Freightliner is walking away from it won't cover anymore time on it as my warranty has expired. I'm told ill have to live with it. So ever time I start my truck I get CAB249. Sweet.
     
  6. ohsoslow

    ohsoslow Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    cab249 is not a code, it is a message saying the sam cab has a code. water intrusion was a big problem on many cascadias, also there were some programming issues, causing codes to pop up that were never really there. ask the dealer if you have the latest software in the sam cab, sam chasis, msf, and cgw.
     
  7. Elroythekid

    Elroythekid Heavy Load Member

    Messages:
    757
    Thanks Received:
    289
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Halifax Nova Scotia
    They told me it was telling them an interior light was out but no lights were out. Mechanic worked on it for an afternoon and gave up. They haven't touched it since. Truck is now out of first year warranty so there are a lot of issues I have to "live with". JUNK. I am a freightliner guy LOVED them right up to my last one. No more. Would NEVER recommend anyone purchase any new Freightliner product. As soon as I can get out of this POS it will happen. Never again.
     
  8. ohsoslow

    ohsoslow Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    i would go to a different dealer, the issue your speaking of was a pretty common thing. ask them if all of the software has been updated, also try clearing the code from the dash instead of having the dealer do it through service link
     
  9. Elroythekid

    Elroythekid Heavy Load Member

    Messages:
    757
    Thanks Received:
    289
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Halifax Nova Scotia
    Been to 2 dealers.going back next week I'm going to make them deal with these issues or it will be a fire ball in their parking lot.
     
  10. joel.herrington1980

    joel.herrington1980 Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    I have a 2010 Freightliner Cascadia. Can anyone tell me how to clear the Diag codes from the Dash? I know it does not erase the codes but looking to clear them without having to take it into the shop.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted