$5800 overweight ticket! 18 months driver

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by eivery10, Apr 29, 2016.

1. eivery10

eivery10 Bobtail Member

Apr 29, 2016
    I am a daycab company driver and I was sent with trailer to a location to pick up a different truck. It was 1:00pm in afternoon and traffic was heavy. One quarter of a mile from my destination. I turn down a short brief resident all street. Bethlehem pa Cop pulls me over and ask for license and reg. I give him reg but remember I left my license in my car.

I just know he's going to give me a ticket for the license and disregard the weight ticket since I explained that I was only here making a pick up and my trucker gps brought me down this road.

Long story short, he calls his partner to bring scales and I end up leaving with a 5800$ fine!!

Before I sign the ticket I look at him and asked, " You couldn't let me go?" He said plainly that I was 10klbs overweight. Mind you I am in a 53' "empty" trailer. I look at him but with nothing to say. I then sign.

I left knowing that this would be dismissed by the attorney Drivers legal plan hires for me.
    He is a freaking immigration lawyer whose website advertises everything but Commercial traffic cases.
    The attorney tells me he got the fine down from $5800 to $3000! Wtf! When asked about why his website doesn't advertise traffic issues he states, "We just don't advertise but I handle all the cdl tickets here in this area and the DA never agreed to a fine of less than He advises me not to appeal. If I do and am found guilty I will face the maximum penalty. I have 2 weeks to decide.