any prime trainers in here?

Discussion in 'Prime' started by duckdiver, Nov 28, 2015.

1. duckdiver

duckdiver Road Train Member

Mar 28, 2012
    Surf city
    I've been thinking about being a trainer and have been seriously looking at Prime. How long do you have to drive for Prime before you can train? Can you stay as a company driver to train? And how's it pay? Thanks.

About me, have almost 4 yrs, ran otr, regional and local. Was never a trainer technically but when I was a fleet manager at jb hunt I trained all my drivers (went out with them, showed them up to use the Peoplenet, worked on backing etc with them)

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. albert l

albert l Road Train Member

Feb 10, 2013
    On the Road
    I can answer this as a yes, the others I do not know

My FM periodically asks in his messages about those that want to become a trainer

They are a Mega that trains I am sure they could use you
    Ring a recruiter

sgtcole69 Thanks this.
  4. duckdiver

Mar 28, 2012
    Surf city
    Ok so I talked with a recruiter, he said I had to drive at least 3 months with Prime before I can train which isn't a big deal to me.

I did have a few questions that I couldn't find searching here or on YouTube. The recruiter said I'd start out at 44.5 cents driving the lightweight, that's what the new students out of training start at, is that right? Usually other companies will compensate you for your experience.

Also I read another gentleman had experience came to Prime had to do 15k miles with a trainer, not sure if it was because he took some time off, I have not. My recruiter said I would just do 3 days of orientation and be sent off.

Lastly do I have to do the same extensive testing as the cdl students? I mean I figure I'll have to do a road test, I'd just like to know what to expect. Thanks!

5. FullMetalJacket

FullMetalJacket Road Train Member

Oct 16, 2013