Best provider for data coverage?

Discussion in 'Cellular - Voice - Data' started by shakewell, Mar 13, 2015.

1. shakewell

shakewell Bobtail Member

Feb 22, 2015
    I will be starting a trucking career in the next 3 months or so and I was wondering what provider has the best data coverage from your experience?

My wife will be using the data connection as she works online doing copy editing. We don't need to be connected 24/7 but she should be able to get a 4G connection or bear minimum 3G for 4-5 hours a day. I believe I will be mostly running Texas, Oklahoma, Louisiana, Arkansas, Kansas, etc.

I've been using T-Mobile for about 5 years but whenever I go on a road trip the connection really lacks, I get basically just voice when going between Texas and California.. When I come across a decent sized town I'll start to get Data again.

I heard Sprint has been making deals with rural providers but I've also heard some bad things about them in the past.. So not sure if they have improved their service or not.

Thanks

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. train777

train777 Bobtail Member

Sep 9, 2014
    I am using T-mobile, coverage is good for phone calls, but data is not good enough, many dead spots between cities. The price for the service is the best in the industry, but I am still keeping WI-FI router from AT&T for the T-mobile dead spots. I have tried VERIZON, but I will never go with them, they cheat to much in the data you spend with them and the coverage is not better than AT&T.

4. lmcclure1220

lmcclure1220 Light Load Member

Jan 18, 2015
    Walnut, Ms
    I live too far out in the country for anything except satellite or WiFi. I've been using Verizon MiFi for years and I'm happy with it. I have AT&T phone service. I've been all over the US and used both. I'd tell you to go with Verizon and carry your internet with you!

5. shakewell

shakewell Bobtail Member