CB Transmits but can't hear responses. Cobra 29 LTD ARMY

Discussion in 'CB Radio Forum' started by gtiplus, Jul 18, 2010.

  1. gtiplus

    gtiplus Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Location:
    Mascotte, FL
    I think I broke it. I have a brand new Cobra 29 LTD Army that I hooked up. I just pulled out my old radio and hooked this one up not knowing anything about Antennas and all that. It gave me some squelch and had sound for a few minutes. I left it alone and came back to it later on to play around and I couldn't hear anything. I did a radio check and saw the meter moving when someone talked but couldn't hear them. I also noticed the antenna light comes on when the mic is keyed. I was wondering if the one has anything to do with the other. I adjusted all the knobs up and down and I get nothing. Oh yeah, I have one basic 4 ft black coated antenna. I bought it so long ago I don't know what the wattage is, but I believe it's around 1000. Yes I'm very much a newbie:biggrin_2556:
     
  2. squirrellsgnwild

    squirrellsgnwild Medium Load Member

    Messages:
    469
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Location:
    In that nuthouse they call California
    having an unmoded radio with any cb antenna will not hurt it. the cobra 29 puts out a whopping 4 watts. what will kill the radio is having a high swr and then transmitting on the radio for more than a few seconds. did you transmit for a long period of more than a few seconds with high swr's? what is the swr of the antenna?

    my 2 cents: i don't operate my radio without first checking the swr on the antenna
     
  3. WA4GCH

    WA4GCH Road Train Member

    Messages:
    3,324
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Location:
    Seminole Florida
    Are you shure the squelch is OPEN ? set the volume for center and turn the squelch control both ways and see if you get any noise ... ALSO check the RF gain control IF THE RADIO HAS ONE make shure it is turned all the way up ...

    One other thing check the PA/CB switch to see if it is on CB ....
     
  4. lovesthedrive

    lovesthedrive The Confuzeled

    Messages:
    5,182
    Thanks Received:
    4,917
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Location:
    Sorrento, Maine
  5. Big_m

    Big_m Heavy Load Member

    Messages:
    874
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    Central Maryland
    First turn your squelch to the left and RF Gain all the way right. Mic gain all the way right. And YOUR ANTENNA LIGHT IS NOT SUPPOSE TO COME ON! If so your SWR is to high. Also Check or Change your coax and antenna system.
     
  6. gtiplus

    gtiplus Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Location:
    Mascotte, FL
    Thanks for the replies. Yes I checked the cb/pa switch and the RF gain, and the SQL. I think Big_M hit the nail on the head. I had the SWR/CAL knob turned all the way to the right and was doing a radio check before I read the manual on how to calibrate it. The cobra 29 ltd's have a s/rf, swr, cal switch to do what I guess is a basic swr calibration. I didn't know that at the time. So my next question is how do I fix it? Or should I say, can a pro shop fix it? Thanks guys. I would normally take it back and exchange it, but I bought this one from a guy in the Pilot parking lot which I ordinarily wouldn't do but my old cb was a $40.00 dollar piece of crap that I really needed to upgrade.
     
  7. gtiplus

    gtiplus Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Location:
    Mascotte, FL
    I took the CB to a shop and had it tested. As soon as the guy hooked up his antenna we could hear sound. He said I had either a bad coax cable or a bad ground. I payed $30.00 to have the radio "peaked and tuned" and I am running a stand alone antenna to the truck mirror. I say stand alone because on the freightliner Century, the CB antennas on the tops of the mirrors also are used for the am/fm radio. Since I don't see a tv antenna anywhere, they are probably for the tv also. I'm sure this can't help my CB signal so I'll just have a new antenna and cable for the CB itself. FYI for anyone who didn't know this. I just learned it from the CB man.
     
  8. WA4GCH

    WA4GCH Road Train Member

    Messages:
    3,324
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Location:
    Seminole Florida
    AND .... Just how much is it puting out now ?

    I would love to see under controled conditions just how much someone can " PEAK AND TUNE" a radio .... Unless he is also modding it not much ....
     
  9. Big_m

    Big_m Heavy Load Member

    Messages:
    874
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    Central Maryland
    On most Cobra 29's 2-3 1/2 watts right out of the box. And they will show an output about 15-18 watts after peak.
     
  10. Big_m

    Big_m Heavy Load Member

    Messages:
    874
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    Central Maryland
    "Also Check or Change your coax and antenna system".

    I felt it would be in your Coax/Antenna system.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted