Dodging scales

Discussion in 'Questions To Truckers From The General Public' started by Wilhelm, May 22, 2008.

1. Wilhelm

Wilhelm Bobtail Member

May 21, 2008
    Salt Lake
    Greetings,

I'm a short story writer doing some research. I appreciate any and all help. How common is it for drivers to dodge scales/weigh stations? What are some methods or tricks drivers use to get around them?

Wilhelm

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. dancnoone

dancnoone "Village Idiot"

May 6, 2007
    Mississippi
    While it's not "that" common. It happens everyday.

Most people just stay on state routes, that get them around them. Even if it takes them out of the way a few miles.

Others, take a chance on restricted routes.

It's not a big deal, unless you get caught.

And there are many reasons for dodging a scale. Not just to avoid overweight or equipment issues.

4. Wilhelm

Wilhelm Bobtail Member

May 21, 2008
    Salt Lake
    Thanks much. Couple more questions: What are the consequences of getting caught and what are some of the other reasons people dodge scales?

W

5. dancnoone

May 6, 2007
    Mississippi
    The consequences can vary, From a severe ### chewing, to 10's of thousands of dollars in fines.

The fines will be based on everything that can/may apply. Overweight, weight restricted route/bridge, log books, equipment violations, no CDL, length restrictions, hazmat restrictions. The list just goes on and on.

Some of the reasons.

To save time, during high inspection periods. An inspection can cost you vital time needed if you're running late.

Poor equipment, the driver/company knows can not meet inspection standards.

Over Weight, over length, over width, out of hours on logs, no permits, missing permits, no insurance, no CDL.

I would add illegal drugs. But it appears we have idiots out here, that think they can go into scales with a trailer load of drugs and money.