Few Questions, Tips or Help would be great

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Jon McDonald, May 25, 2015.

1. Jon McDonald

Jon McDonald Bobtail Member

May 25, 2015
    Orlando, FL
    Hello all,

My name is Jon. I am a Navy veteran. I have been out of the service for about 2 years now going to school. Although I am grateful for the opportunity to go to school, I know that it is not what I want to do. I don't want to sit in an office and do paperwork for the rest of my life. I love driving and for a few years have been thinking about becoming a truck driver but just haven't ever acted on that thought. I have finally decided that its what I want to do. I am currently living in Central Florida in the Orlando area. It seems that I have quite a few options for schooling. The three that I am currently considering is going to Roadmaster in Orlando, TDI in Sanford, or one of the community colleges around here. I actually went into TDI and have an "interview" and they told me I could start anytime. Its a $6000 tuition but I'm not to worried about the price considering I will be using my veterans benefits. There are a few questions that I am really trying to find out. The recruiter at TDI gave me the whole lecture how I will have job offers within the first couple weeks of schooling. This sounds all fine and dandy but my question is, when these job offers come to me, are they recruiting for this area? Or do these companies give you job offers but you may have to move? I have a family, so would like to stay exactly where I am. I know this question has probably been asked thousands of times, but strait out of a school, what is a realistic salary I can expect for the first year? I don't expect to make great money the first year and realize that you have to pay your dues before you have options for better companies. If OTR is all that i get offered, then I do not have a problem doing it, although the instructor at TDI said they do have local jobs and regiona