Getting into Canada

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by reddemon71, Feb 5, 2008.

1. reddemon71

reddemon71 Light Load Member

Feb 5, 2008
    Mpls,MN
    I'm a trucker and i heard that if you have a dwi on your record you can't get into canada to deliver, Anyone know if this is true?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. LogsRus

LogsRus Log it Legal

Nov 23, 2006
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    I do believe it's true!

4. t_wilson0321

t_wilson0321 <strong>Adjustable Wench</strong>

Jan 23, 2008
    on the road again
    From what I understand, you can't get into Canada with any driving and alcohol charges, or a felony, or pretty much any criminal background. If you do cross the border, you can never come back to the US. However, I read somewhere about what is called a ministers pardon or waiver, something like that, that will allow a person to cross the border and back. I don't know for sure, haven't had a chance to research it yet. If I find anything about it, I'll post it on here.

5. lilillill

lilillill Sarcasm... it's not just for breakfast

Nov 7, 2007
    Possum Booger, Alabama
  6. t_wilson0321

Jan 23, 2008
    on the road again
    OK I did some searching on the net and found this.

CRIMINAL RECORD: companies crossing the border into Canada may not send a driver with a felony conviction on those runs: Canada will arrest the driver and seize the truck. A Canadian waiver or Ministers Permit must be obtained to legally cross the border.

I got it from this website:

http://www.infoporium.com/truckschools/truckintro.shtml