How hard is it to own a dump truck?

Discussion in 'Tanker, Bulk and Dump Trucking Forum' started by Opi, Sep 25, 2015.

1. Opi

Opi Light Load Member

Jan 8, 2008
    PA
    Been driving for 8 years, mostly tankers and 53' dry. Just started driving a friends tri axle and really enjoy it. Would it be difficult? Here's a few things I think would help answer this:

My driving record is spotless
    My credit is great (750ish)
    I have a lot of on road experience
    Construction in my area is flourishing

Thanks!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. icsheeple

icsheeple Trailing the Herd

Nov 1, 2013
    Kansas City, KS
    I know a guy that does it. He owns a really old truck, does most of the truck maintenance work himself. He makes about $40k a year. It's seasonal, so he doesn't work winter.

4. 201

201 Road Train Member

Apr 16, 2014
    high plains colorado
    Hi Opi, I've done a lot of dump truck work over the years, and as with anything, there's pluses and minuses.
    Pro: home every night, pit usually closes at 3:30, ( operators can't wait, to leave), no scales, mostly local, although, there are OTR dump gigs, load and unload in minutes, not hours, pay is about average ( I'm sure OTR drivers can make a lot more)