How to handle leaving a company and starting my own?

Discussion in 'Freight Broker Forum' started by speedstickman, Aug 14, 2015.

1. speedstickman

speedstickman Bobtail Member

Jul 10, 2012
    So I've been working for a carrier for the past 4 years (soon to be 5), and I think I am ready to jump ship and start my own business.

I've worked as a dispatcher for 1 year, and been in charge of booking loads for the past 3.
    I've built some contacts (brokers, drivers), gotten experience, and to be completely honest, a bit jaded I'm making all this money for the company and not getting any commission in return (I'm working on straight salary)

I'm looking into starting my own freight brokerage, as it seems like this would be the way to go due to low start up costs and overall low overhead (home office anybody?) but I'm not sure how to handle leaving this job, as I would like to do business with this company as a carrier partner.

I have some contacts that provide me with loads every week, and I'm thinking that at least some of them would come along with me.
    I could then just get the same loads, and broker them to this carrier for a profit, to get things rolling... (and grow from then on)

What would be the best way to handle this situation? I feel like if I quit and tell my boss I've been starting my own thing on the side, he would feel betrayed and not wanna do business with me.

Is this a terrible idea? Am I way over my head ? Anybody been in a similar situation?

Also...if possible, I am looking to partner up with somebody that has some good contacts (shippers and carriers).
    I specialize in freight coming in/out of Southern California (dry and reefer loads)

Any feedback would be welcome.

Thank you!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. baha

baha Road Train Member

Jul 25, 2013
    ga