icon sucks!

Discussion in 'Trucks [ Eighteen Wheelers ]' started by dr giggles, Nov 11, 2010.

  1. dr giggles

    dr giggles Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Location:
    nashville tn
    I have a 06 int. that is an old usa truck with a cummins isx motor and the icon idle control on it. The icon dont work and I have taken to the cummins dealer 2 times now to turn the icon thing off. It will idle for about 5 min then icon light will flash and shut down even after seting temp and everything. Cummins said they cant get computer to comunicate with the icon thing and didnt even know where it was on truck! I found it under pass side kick panel just would like to know how to bypass wiring on it. Cummins changes idle time on ecm trying to get it to idel so if i can bypass it it should be ok. Anyone got some expertese on this?
     
  2. Pablo-UA

    Pablo-UA Road Train Member

    Messages:
    7,140
    Thanks Received:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Location:
    Borispol, Ukraine
    it is not so difficult. you need Cummins Insite 6 ore higher to disable icon ore change parameters, like delay!

    Can you see Icon control unit (in sleeper may be). It is a box with buttons like a DD OptiIdle... you can program it for longer idle time ore oil temp. control

    If Icon control panel is bad, just disable idle shutdown with Insite
     
  3. country29

    country29 Medium Load Member

    Messages:
    513
    Thanks Received:
    135
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Location:
    Arkansas
    or, if it is a usa truck, pull glove box out, look/feel behind the fuse panel. there should be a plastic block with 2 fuses in it, pull 1 and if the truck does not start, then put it back in and pull the other 1 out, that is the fuse for the icon. take it out and it will idle anytime. Now sometimes that block is ziptied way down behind the fuse panel, sometimes its just loose. hope you can find it.
     
  4. Pablo-UA

    Pablo-UA Road Train Member

    Messages:
    7,140
    Thanks Received:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Location:
    Borispol, Ukraine
    wire from ign. switch runs to ICON and ICON starts the engine. if you pull out ICON you need to jump start wires.
     
  5. dr giggles

    dr giggles Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Location:
    nashville tn
    Thanks for the replies, i will look for the fuses behind the panel monday when i go in. I found one wire off icon box that said ecm feed and was going to jump straight from fuse to it. I pulled fuse marked icon ecm and that stoped the icon light from coming on when you turn key on so i figugerd it would stop it if i can just get jucie to ecm! Thanks a lot for the help hands!
     
  6. country29

    country29 Medium Load Member

    Messages:
    513
    Thanks Received:
    135
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I work in the shop at usa, so what I tell you about the 2 fuse block behind the fuse panel is correct for about 90% of the 9400's we had. if u pull 1 and the truck doesnt start, put it back in and pull the other 1. once you find it!
     
  7. dr giggles

    dr giggles Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Location:
    nashville tn
    Ok thanks a lot had to go to a funeral today so i didnt get to mess with the truck. I look 1 st thing monday morning when i go in, and thank you to everyone for the help!
     
  8. myers trucking

    myers trucking Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Location:
    salisbury,nc
    there is no way to by pass it i tryed everything i could to by pass the one i have in my volvo.im taking the truck to volvo to have them remove it all together its the only way.
     
  9. country29

    country29 Medium Load Member

    Messages:
    513
    Thanks Received:
    135
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Location:
    Arkansas
    may not be on a volvo but his int9400 I know you can bypass it, because some that we sell they want it unhooked.
     
  10. Pablo-UA

    Pablo-UA Road Train Member

    Messages:
    7,140
    Thanks Received:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Location:
    Borispol, Ukraine
    You need Cummins Insite software to disable ICON. Jumping starting wires is not all!

    DD use OI. To disable it DDRS is required.

    Gentelmen! you work with computer controlled truks! use all tools!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted