Idle shutdown bypass

Discussion in 'Trucks [ Eighteen Wheelers ]' started by indecisivedriver, May 26, 2016.

1. indecisivedriver

indecisivedriver Bobtail Member

May 26, 2016
    Hello so I've tried the whole 9 from only setting the trailer brakes to bumping the cruise to putting things on the pedals everything. The only way to trick this thing is to have it out of its temp. Parameters which is 70 to 20 degrees. Now I've went through a ton of threads and I've only ever seen it on one thread but it was some sensor that makes the outside temp read like 500 degrees I was hoping someone can tell me what this sensor is so I can try it. I'm a company driver so I can't mess with the truck too much so if I can just unplug my sensor which is in my mirror and plug in that dummy sensor to make it so I can idle that I'll do. After I get my experience I'm finding a different company or buying my own truck but if someone can tell me what that sensor is that'd be great thanks.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. indecisivedriver

May 26, 2016
    And if you could tell me where to get it that'd be great too thanks

4. CasanovaCruiser

CasanovaCruiser Road Train Member

Jun 2, 2015
    Indiana
    Assuming your truck has that little nipple thermometer on the bottom side of the mirror right?

Buy a bunch of those hot hands glove warmers on eBay and slap em on the sensor.
    It'll at least keep you from tearing into a company truck.
    Might cost you $1 or $2 a night

indecisivedriver Thanks this.
  5. indecisivedriver

May 26, 2016
    I've done this I just want to swap a sensor every now and then before an inspection

6. Scooter Jones

Scooter Jones Road Train Member

Apr 19, 2011
    Is your company cool with you swapping out sensors on their truck that are obviously there for a reason?

7. indecisivedriver

May 26, 2016