Interested in starting out

Discussion in 'Car Hauler and Auto Carrier Trucking Forum' started by Samot, Oct 24, 2016.

1. Samot

Samot Bobtail Member

Mar 5, 2009
    Georgia
    Hello everyone,

I'm looking into hauling cars and have some questions. I've been driving for a disposal company for the last 12 years, I was just told he is looking to sell the company and possibly shut it down in Feb. do to serious health issues. I was looking to buy a dump truck a couple years ago but the more I spoke to other drivers the more I decided not to. The time has come that I must do something else to provide for my family.

So, I have car hauling experience. I drove a 4 car carrier before going to the disposal company. I see jobs where people are asking for a 3, 5, 7+ car carrier drivers but never a 4 ? The reason I'm asking is you can get away with driving a 4 car with just a class B license. I only have a class B, so I was wondering is buying a 4 carrier going to allow me to make money ? How hard is it to start off ? Is there anything that I should know before starting out ? I looked at load boards but also wanted to ask if there any other options or suggestions you can give me about obtaining work ?

Thanks you in advanced.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. chris_karr

chris_karr Light Load Member

Sep 6, 2014
    Virginia Beach, VA