Just applied to swift what to expect?

Discussion in 'Swift' started by Santah, Mar 24, 2016.

1. Santah

Santah Bobtail Member

Mar 24, 2016
    I just put in a application for swift a few minutes ago.

After of weeks of debating and watching videos about truck driving I decided to apply.
    I know swift has a lot of negative reviews, but I am willing to do anything just to get my foot in the door.

I am currently 23 years old, I've never driven a truck before.
    I've been working in factories since I graduated highschool and I found out recently It's just not for me.

I want to see the world a bit more before my time is up with the earth.

Also how much home time would I have?

The only thing that will be hard to adjust is being away from home for awhile.
    I can deal with showering in a rest area and sleeping in a truck.
    But being away from home for weeks at a time may be hard.
    If anyone else has had the issues how did you get over those issues?

Dominick253 Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. ExOTR

ExOTR Windshield Chipper Extraordinaire

Jan 23, 2013
    Fort Worth, Tx
    You'll be gone most of time during training , just the way it works. Only a few months though... Where do you live? Are you close to a swift terminal?

4. ExOTR

Jan 23, 2013
    Fort Worth, Tx
    Also- Married? Significant other? Kiddos?

5. rachi

rachi Road Train Member

Feb 25, 2010
    SoCal
    You might as well not worry about hometime because you wont be seeing much of it. Figure on being home 3 days a month.

6. TB John

TB John Company Shill of BYOB & CBD

Dec 28, 2008
    Generally you'll be showering in a truck stop or terminal, not a rest area. You'll probably be at home one day for every seven out. Biggest question, are you married, and do you have kids?

7. rachi

rachi Road Train Member

Feb 25, 2010
    SoCal