Leak causing heath problems

Discussion in 'Freightliner Forum' started by TheSquatch, Jul 2, 2016.

1. TheSquatch

TheSquatch Light Load Member

Aug 25, 2012
    Utah
    My wife and I both drive and for the past 2 weeks we have both had a dry sore throat. At first we thought we were just sick but then we noticed when we got out of the truck for a day or so and then got back in the truck it would start again within one to three hours..

The only solution we have come up with so far is to keep our AC/Heater off in the front and back and keep all the windows open. If we do that we start to feel better after about 6 hours. I'm don't think it is an exhaust leak but I'm no mechanic. There is only a slight smell that I just barely noticed today that almost smells metallic and/or plastic or chemically.

I am putting my truck in the shop wail I have time off from the 4th to the 8th of July and need to know what to tell the mechanic's. If any one has any ideas or knows what the problem is I would be forever grateful for your help.

One final note. If we have the windows down and turn the AC/Heater on we start to get sick again.

Edit: Forgot to tell you my truck info. 2014 or 2015 not sure, manufactured on 07/14. Cascadia.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. DUNE-T

DUNE-T Road Train Member

May 10, 2015
    Detroit, MI
    Put a carbon sensor in the truck

magoo68 Thanks this.
  4. TheSquatch

Aug 25, 2012
    Utah
    Good idea.

Another note. I was just walking around at the pickup location I'm at and could still smell the metallic and/or plastic or chemically smell so I'm guessing its not my truck that I'm smelling seeing that I only just noticed the smell today.

5. TheSquatch

Aug 25, 2012
    Utah
    Just remembered more.