Leasing on with landstar, any advise?

Discussion in 'Landstar' started by Edgrmndz, Jul 20, 2016.

1. Edgrmndz

Edgrmndz Bobtail Member

Feb 15, 2016
    I have seen some postings about working for landstar from about 7 years ago.
    can any one tell me how is it to work with landstar now a days.
    I am an owner operator with my own authority and would like to lease on with Landstar.
    is it best to use their trailers and their insurance?. I am making about $10,000 a month
    right now getting loads from loadboards but I am working from 5 to 11 just about everyday
    and its getting rougher to make that money due to brokers screwing the owner operators.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. sawmill

sawmill Road Train Member

May 29, 2015
    Evanston, WY
    :eek: Working everyday? I couldn't do that.

4. fireba11

fireba11 Heavy Load Member

Jul 30, 2007
    Tracy City, TN
    It is no easier being leased to Landstar! You still have to search for loads like you are doing now, no one dispatches you. I do get phone calls from agencies but not all the time and we do specialized work. I would say to keep your authority and run the Landstar approved carrier board, I know a few people who cancelled their leases with Landstar and got their own authority and are very happy doing that!

thejackal Thanks this.
  5. fortycalglock

fortycalglock Road Train Member

Jun 25, 2011
    Tourist Town, FL