New class A driver, not new to trucking business

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by BostonTanker, May 29, 2015.

1. BostonTanker

BostonTanker Road Train Member

May 2, 2015
    Boston, MA
    Hey y'all.
    I successfully passed my CDL A license test Wednesday afternoon.
    I've had my class B cdl for 5 years.
    I've been pounding the streets of Boston, MA for 10 years.
    So my company truck broke down again today. Between November and today, with snow for 3 weeks and breakdowns, I'm at 7+ weeks lost pay.
    I'm starting to think hard about going regional otr.
    Don't care if I do dollar accounts or flatbed.
    Not looking to go coast to coast, ot too deep into the south. Been to Texas, Don't particularly care for the ideals Coming out of that region of the country.
    My requirements are simple. Truck needs working air conditioning, can be apu equipped. Needs to have inverter with enough power to power small fridge and cooker. I don't eat crappy cheaply made food. Oh, and company has to have a better rider policy than TMC. My girlfriend and I have been together for 2 years. We're not getting married just so I can drive a shiny pete.
    We're thinking of packing up and putting our stuff in storage for two years while she finishes her master's in psychology and criminal justice.

I have 5 years experience operating class B trucks. I've operated combination working in the wrecker business for 10 years.
    I have a 10+ yr clean MVR, Smith system and NSC DDS certifications.
    So I know starting out it can be crappy. However, can I get a few reccomendations for decent companies?
    I was thinking of hooking up with Werner, as I have a friend who is making money and is happy running mid west regional dollars account . He is a trainer, and it would make the transition easier than getting stuck with some eastern European or some scummy messy stinky no shower driver.
    Feel free to input, and thank you so much for reading.