New driver new to everything

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Claysapparel, Oct 21, 2016.

1. Claysapparel

Claysapparel Light Load Member

Oct 21, 2016
    Hey there! My name is Scott and I will be graduating from the CDL Technical college program in around a month. I am totally new to driving and have little knowledge about the career in general. If you guys could help Id greatly appreciate it.

I am 29, never had a speeding ticket or been arrested for anything. Actually I've never been pulled over or had any sort of road violations. I have a squeaky clean MVR and criminal history. I worked for my families car business for 4 years, then owned a mowing business and ran a clothing store (hiring / firing/ inventory in our small town for 4 years. I still have my lawn care business that I part own today. I also have two associates degrees in general science and psychology. I'm currently finishing my bachelors with a few years to go, online and part time. I've always wanted to drive trucks in some format, so I wanted to give it a go.

I'm a hard worker in good shape, not afraid of labor.

My question is really centered around types of local jobs that pay decent with my experience and record. I'm not looking to become wealthy, just something to help make ends meet. 500-600 a week preferably. I have a special needs child, so over the road would be tough, unless I needed to for experience for 12 months.

I've got one offer so far, from a family friend that runs from Tennessee to Kentucky. He works 6 days a week and long hours.

Would anyone be willing to offer some advice on the topic? Am I uninsurable for local runs or are there companies that would take a chance on me?

Also, I do have an F endorsement from driving special needs patients to and from scheduled appointments. I'm sure that doesn't mean a great deal however.