New Drivers...from a former recruiter

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by BoazTrucker, Feb 10, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BoazTrucker

BoazTrucker Light Load Member

May 3, 2013
    Northeast Alabama
    Let me give you some information. I am a truck driver first and formost, but I also was a recruiter for a year...here is some advice.

An Open Letter from Recruiters to applicants:
    I am a recruiter for a small trucking company, recruiting is part of what I do, I am also a customer service agent, a dispatcher, a mechanic, your best friend and your worst enemy. I have also driven over the road for big carriers and small alike, I know what you are going through, but here is some helpful information and I want to give a driver some insight on why it pays off to tell the truth on an application.

1. Tell the truth, whether you had a felony, or accident, or abandoned equipment, we will find out. When you fill out an application, it is the recruiters job to go back and get all the "details" to your work history. FMSCA says we are required to have 10 years history and verify the past 3, you tell me you worked for the same company 10 years and they tell me that you work for them 9.5 years, I have to ask you what you did for the other 6 months.

2.Disclose all charges against you criminally. Just because you had a felony for writing bad checks in 1997 doesn't mean you will be disqualified. I know at our company we look at everything on a case by case, if you have a pending domestic violence, of course we are not going to let you "run" you need to be here to handle your affairs, but if you had something in your past but have been clean for some years, I am willing to over look that.