O/O Insurance

Discussion in 'Canadian Truckers Forum' started by Thermos, May 28, 2015.

1. Thermos

Thermos Bobtail Member

May 28, 2015
    So here's one I haven't seen-
    I've got my Class 1 licence and as many of you know it's hard to get a job. Quite a few good used semis are available at a really decent price. So I thought I'd just go buy one. I know it's hard to find hauls even if you own a truck but I can afford a used one without any trouble at all. If it sits there a lot of the time so be it. But here's the kicker - I'm told that I can't get insurance for the thing unless I've been driving it (or something like it) for at least 2 years. What?!? Is this for real? What difference does it make if I own the rig or someone else does? I'm driving on the road either way. Someone please tell me this is BS and there's a different insurance company out there with a sensible policy.

Last edited: May 29, 2015
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. not4hire

not4hire Road Train Member

May 16, 2012
    Calgary
    Sounds like that's a rule at your current insurance company. Talk to a commercial insurance broker. Where are you located?

4. Thermos

Thermos Bobtail Member

May 28, 2015
    Maritimes.
    And I've been trying through Palmer Atlantic Insurance, which is quite huge and insures all the really big fleets out this way.

Last edited: May 29, 2015
  5. not4hire

not4hire Road Train Member

May 16, 2012
    Calgary
    Larger does not mean better. Anything can be insured for the right price, you just have to find the person to do it. When I bought my truck in the U.S. I called about eight companies/brokers before I found one that could get me temporary insurance for the trip home (non-commercial trip). Everyone else told me it wasn't possible.

6. Brucesmith

Brucesmith Heavy Load Member

Jun 16, 2012