Ordering food at a truckstop tip.

Discussion in 'Truck Stops' started by thedragon, Feb 23, 2007.

1. thedragon

thedragon Light Load Member

Mar 18, 2006
    Wadena, Mn
    As most know I was a Chef for 14 years before I turned in the spatula for a set of truck keys. I've had my share of compliments and complaints, especialy when it came to cooking steak....So here's a dictonary on steak doneness......

RARE: Cool Pink Center, just cooked long enough to heat the outside, may still bleed
    MEDIUM RARE: Warm Pink Center, may still bleed
    MEDIUM: Hot pink Center
    MEDIUM WELL:Very little pink in center, the hardest to cook(even for a seasoned chef)
    WELL:no pink center

Not to many people know that, and a few get confused when they order thier steak and get upset when it aint cooked right. So hope that helps.

In many restaurants they won't cook ground beef (hamburgers, choped steak, etc) less then medium well to well done. This is for your own health!! In those that do, you may be asked to sign the ticket, that way, if you get sick from raw hamburger, you can't sue them. So if they say no can do, don't argue. We care about your health!!!!!

Also know the diffrence between a server error and kitchen error. In many restaurants, still, the server hand writes the order and gives it to the cook, and I've had a few that looked like one thing and it was something totaly diffrent.

And last but not least, NEVER run into the kitchen storming mad and cussing. I had a customer do that once while I was slicing ribs. I thought we were getting robbbed, so I snuck up around the corner with a 5 pound cleaver (it was from my personal collection, and I kept them litteraly razor sharp, and still do) and grabed him from behind, and held the clever against him. Till the cops showed up. I found out that his order was cooked wrong. The waitress mixed up his steak dinner with another tables steak dinner.