Possible load abandonment

Discussion in 'Trucker Legal Advice' started by Kryss, Aug 10, 2015.

1. Kryss

Kryss Bobtail Member

Aug 10, 2015
    Ok so I'm a newbie. I started with this small company in dayton about 2 months ago. I had asked a week in advance to get some home time after being out for six weeks. They said yes. I picked up a load and was told to head to their only terminal. I sit for 24 hours at terminal. I get there and ask if I can go home they said no I must deliver load. So I said no I'm going home. (Four other drivers there could have taken load.) I ended up quitting but they are saying they are going to put a load abandonment on my DAC. I already have another job but I don't think the load abandonment is fair. I was told to come to terminal. Not go deliver.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. miss elvee

miss elvee Heavy Load Member

Dec 15, 2012
    Russellville, AR
    Not many drivers are going to touch this one. It's subjective. But I'll give you my opinion for what its worth.

You should have delivered the load. Unless... you were scheduled for surgery or a close family member was on their deathbed. Trucking is not an exact science and often you will get home within a few days of when you wanted. It pays to play ball with those you work for. This means it is tough as all get out to schedule anything. It's part of the job, driver.

If it was a true emergency... then ya, dump the load and boogie. Consequences be hanged.

blairandgretchen and Kryss Thank this.
  4. icsheeple

icsheeple Trailing the Herd

Nov 1, 2013
    Kansas City, KS
    Can you reword or embellish on that a bit?? You sat at the terminal for 24 hours, then asked to go home. Why sit at the terminal for 24 hours? I'm confused.

blairandgretchen and 77smartin Thank this.
  5. Kryss

Kryss Bobtail Member

Aug 10, 2015