Post your abusive trainer stories here

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by moloko, Oct 5, 2015.

1. moloko

moloko Road Train Member

Oct 26, 2012
    seattle, wa
    I'll start with mine! I have a couple of years experience as a driver, so I know how to drive a truck. So with that in mind, the next time I am ever stuck with a "trainer", I am going to have to remind him that 1) I am the driver, and 2) do not correct my driving unless there is something obviously dangerous about it.

I got hired on with this fuel hauling company, and they put me with a trainer. His role, was to train me to get certified at the loading racks and to teach me how to unload the fuel. This guy, had zero experience as a trainer. I was his first trainee, and he clearly thought "trainee" meant "slave." This guy had me working through my lunch breaks, kept me from taking 10 minute breaks, and threw me under the bus to management constantly.

One day in particular stands out. This guy tried to keep me at work long after I had clocked out, and I left without his 'blessing.' This was a clear pattern of behavior at this point, and I wasn't having it on this particular day. The next day, this guy flipped out at me for leaving after work, because 'the trainee leaving before the trainer doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me.' This guy then accused me of being 'self-centered', among other things. I had to remind him that working off the clock was illegal, and I wasn't going to have any of it.

His Jekyll and Hyde personality was unlike anything I have dealt with in the workplace. To see and hear this guy interact with management, he was a total fake workplace politician; he was conversational and cordial to the dispatcher's faces, he name dropped all of the top management on an hourly basis, and made it a point to constantly remind me that he was connected. But as soon as nobody was around, he would change 180 degrees and act like he was about to stab me repeatedly.