Rest breaks

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Rugerfan77, Oct 6, 2015.

1. Rugerfan77

Rugerfan77 Bobtail Member

Sep 5, 2015
    Im a student driver. Besides the "30" min break is there any laws governing how often a driver can take a break? Im with a mega company. As you can imagine it can be like pulling teeth to take a break. me and trainer are OTR..State laws apply to breaks? Federal laws? No protection at all and just be glad for the 30?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. lots of character

lots of character Road Train Member

Aug 12, 2015
    It could be a gallon jug.. Pee when you want :cool:

Sneakerfix Thanks this.
  4. flyingmusician

flyingmusician Road Train Member

Feb 25, 2011
    Jamestown, NC
    I break when I want to or when I need to. Simple as that.

I pad my eta with enough time for these things.

5. Balakov100

Balakov100 Road Train Member

May 10, 2012
    Temple, TX
    Well you CAN take a break as often as you like.
    By law only that '30' and '10 hour' break are required.

flood Thanks this.
  6. G.Anthony

G.Anthony Road Train Member

Dec 10, 2014
    it is a pretty good idea, to not continually drive for the full 11 hours, with out a break. take your 30 minute break and log it, then take another break or breaks along your route. if kept under 15 minutes, you just do not have to log that.

if you need to "squirt the dirt", then do so, and be on your way.

beware that if you are running late, you should have previously allowed extra traveling time.

7. 8thnote

8thnote Road Train Member

Aug 12, 2013
    Chattanooga, TN