SRT: Update to This Company?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Travis Simpson, Oct 6, 2015.

1. Travis Simpson

Travis Simpson Bobtail Member

Oct 6, 2015
    Hello,
    I am new to the Trucking Industry, which I have much respect for the people who make careers out of it. Just studying and researching it shows how intense of a field this can be!

I recently applied to SRT, got accepted, completed the online course and have to get my CDL Permit. After that I am told to email or fax it to them, then they will get a bus ticket for me to Texarkana. I currently live in D'Iberville, MS, where I just moved to from New Mexico. Needing a job is what drove me to this. And quite honestly, have been looking at trucking for a while now.

From reading the website Truckingtruth, to exploring the web finding what information I can, I see so many bad reviews for SRT. Being the Tech Nerd that I am, I don't base my opinion solely off these poorly orchestrated review sites which only collect bad reviews and post them in one center, Xing out the good reviews.

Crawling this website I see a mixed base of good and bad. I take the bad with a grain of salt, seeing many truckers call out the bad the way I figured it would be. Why let a bad seed make the company? So here I am!

I want the final opinion, is SRT decent just for getting my foot in the door trucking? Should I go through with it, or research and try for other companies? I read about Swift and Knight, and they seem to be a little more picky in who they will train and give schooling to. They are also much farther away.

What can the experts of trucking tell me? What advice can you offer? What will help me to "make it" in this field?

Thank you all for reading and offering your opinion!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Salad

Salad Medium Load Member

Mar 1, 2015