The stress level in trucking

Discussion in 'Questions To Truckers From The General Public' started by 23YearoldTrucker, Jan 19, 2016.

1. 23YearoldTrucker

23YearoldTrucker Light Load Member

Jun 3, 2013
    Phoenix, AZ
    I am a cdl A holder but I drive a city bus class b vehicle. Ive been driving for a little over 2 years now and it is stressful ! I worry about not damaging the bus, passengers safety and not hitting anyone. Just wondering if truck driving is stressful too ? Is it more stressful then driving a bus or do you think it's less stressful.

What is your stress level like in trucking?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. redoctober83

redoctober83 Road Train Member

Sep 10, 2013
    Seattle, wa
    Only stress I have is usually in big cities around rush hour because of all the stupid people out on the road. Beyond that it's pretty relaxing otr. If you can handle driving a bus like that with the stress, you'll be much happier and with a lot less stress driving otr.

FerrissWheel Thanks this.
  4. FerrissWheel

FerrissWheel Road Train Member

Dec 23, 2015
    NV
    The truth is it comes down to stress management. I'm very good at remaining relaxed and calm. And in situations others stress over I just focus more on the situation. That being said, dangerous weather and ultra congested traffic are big stressors. But for me personally, its when I get tired.

Normally I can burn 14hrs with11 driving, without issue. But from time to time, the energy just isn't there, that's when I start feeling the stress, that's also when I pull over and take a nap.

thejackal Thanks this.
  5. hunted

hunted Medium Load Member

I feel for you guys that drive city bus. Truck driving is stressful at times but, your job is more stressful. You have to deal with the unruly public on the bus giving you a hard time. It has to be a slow tedious day everyday. That's not for me no way