Trucking Jobs New Driver Jobs Flatbed Jobs Tanker Jobs Refrigerated Jobs Auto Hauler Jobs
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Road Train Member
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Trucker?
    No Answer
    Posts
    1,254
    Thanks
    566
    Thanked: 282 Times

    DD15 idle shutdown timer

    Anybody know how to disable or temporarily over ride the idle timer on these engines? Its in a 2010 FL cascadia.


  2. #2
    Road Train Member
    Member Since
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Standing in the corner, timed out
    Trucker?
    No Answer
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    2,167
    Thanked: 1,207 Times
    What have you tried so far, and did you search on here for an answer ?? I've heard that when the light starts flashing-tap your brake or clutch petal 2 times. If that doesn't work, try tapping your ruby slippers 3 times !!!!!!
    Last edited by jtrnr1951; 12.09.2009 at 06.46 PM.

  3. #3
    Trucker Forum STAFF
    Member Since
    Sep 2006
    Location
    the road less travelled
    Trucker?
    10 Years
    Posts
    10,009
    Thanks
    10,922
    Thanked: 7,046 Times
    Increasing the idle speed should disable the timer, if that is enabled. If it works it will be with cruise control on and transmission in neutral with the clutch engaged unless it's an auto shift and the service brake not actuated.
    Push the set resume button to resume /accelerate and the idle speed should increase. I'm not sure of the fast idle speed on a DD15.

    This may not work if the fast idle has been disabled with the ECM, the ECM can be set to not shut down on other engines.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to 25(2)+2 For This Useful Post:


  5. #4
    Road Train Member
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Trucker?
    No Answer
    Posts
    1,254
    Thanks
    566
    Thanked: 282 Times
    Tried all that....nothin worked. Even tried the "set only the trailer brake or chock the drives" trick and it still wont idle. Looked in the manual and it said that in order to be California compliant, it has to have the idle timer set. I need to figure out how to turn it off because with the chance of fuel gelling and other concerns, we need to idle sometimes; not all the time cuz we are a team operation, but there are a few times. im only gonna be in this truck for 3 years and APU's cost alot more than i want to spend money on for somethin short-term and Idle-Air isnt available everywhere. Not all of our sittin sometimes occurs at even a truckstop.

  6. #5
    Bobtail Member
    Member Since
    Jun 2010
    Trucker?
    14 Years
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    I also have one of these 2010 cascadia trucks, and I know how to do it.. when u get stopped and need to idle for longer than the ecm lets u, bump the idle with the cruise, 100 rpm over normal is enough, and let it idle. when the engine lights start to flash, press the gas pedal, and push the shutdown override button 3 times...then ur truck will idle all night long. I have been doing this when it is hot and muggy outside and cannot sleep so i know it works. Being solo I will have more idle than a team so is nice to know i can do it. Good luck and b safe out there everyone.

  7. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to bestcheater For This Useful Post:


  8. #6
    Road Train Member
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Trucker?
    No Answer
    Posts
    1,254
    Thanks
    566
    Thanked: 282 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by bestcheater View Post
    I also have one of these 2010 cascadia trucks, and I know how to do it.. when u get stopped and need to idle for longer than the ecm lets u, bump the idle with the cruise, 100 rpm over normal is enough, and let it idle. when the engine lights start to flash, press the gas pedal, and push the shutdown override button 3 times...then ur truck will idle all night long. I have been doing this when it is hot and muggy outside and cannot sleep so i know it works. Being solo I will have more idle than a team so is nice to know i can do it. Good luck and b safe out there everyone.
    I'll have to try that as soon as I get somewhere where its cooler....... At least one good thing, the summertime gives an advantage because with our trucks, we can only legally idle when the temp is either below 20 degrees or above 80 degrees and that since all that is based off the temp reading from the temp gauge that displays the outside air temp, the extra heat from the motor affects it's reading so a lot of times, when you run the high-idle, the outside air temp gauge reads higher than what it actually is.

    Thanks in advance for the tip if it actually works on this truck!

  9. #7
    Road Train Member
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Trucker?
    No Answer
    Posts
    1,254
    Thanks
    566
    Thanked: 282 Times
    Well, finally got somewhere where its cooler and tried your trick and it didnt work.

    On yours, does your idle permissions have anything to do with the outside air temperature? What exactly is the temperature outside your truck when you idle based on the reading on your instrument panel?

    On ours, the motor wont idle for an extended amout of time if the temperature outside is above 20 degrees or below like 80 degrees.

  10. #8
    Bobtail Member
    Member Since
    Jun 2010
    Trucker?
    14 Years
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    hmm thats odd since i can do it in any temp..Like u the company has it set fro below 20 and above 80, but i can do it like i said in any temp. Are you sure u followed the directions? That shutdown bypass is from my shop and it works everytime.
    Good Luck

  11. #9
    Road Train Member Cowpie1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Kellogg, IA
    Trucker?
    30 Years
    Posts
    3,909
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked: 2,763 Times
    Could also disable the shut down feature in the ECM. It is a selection just like a lot of things in the ECM.

  12. #10
    Banned or Retired
    Member Since
    May 2010
    Location
    West o' the Big Crick
    Trucker?
    5 Years
    Age
    46
    Posts
    8,461
    Thanks
    9,450
    Thanked: 9,572 Times
    My Truckers Blog
    1
    I have 2009 Cascadia. If I need to idle, I don't need to touch any of the pedals. In fact, touching the pedals will turn the idle option off, so don't touch them. Pull the air brake, start with the cruise control off, then turn the cruise control on (make sure it's on by the green light on the dash) and push the decelerate button once. You will know if it worked if your rpm ramp up a bit. If your rpm don't ramp up, it's not working.

    It's not temperature specific and you should be able to idle at any old time. If it's not working, check with your company that they didn't turn it off. I'm pretty sure they aren't allowed to for driver safety reasons. You can't be sitting in the middle of the desert with no a/c...or in Minnesota in the dead of winter with no heat. If you can't get it to work, call your safety department first and then call OSHA if you can't get anywhere.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Injun For This Useful Post:


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast