Trucking Jobs New Driver Jobs Flatbed Jobs Tanker Jobs Refrigerated Jobs Auto Hauler Jobs
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    Light Load Member
    Member Since
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Trucker?
    5 Years
    Posts
    220
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked: 19 Times

    Train MID 128 SID 231 FM2 error code.. what does it mean and how to fix it??

    I have 05 Volvo with D12 465hp and autoshift.. Truck has rough engine work and no power



    I get this MID 128 SID231 FM2 error code.

    It says SAE J1939 data erratic.

    Can anybody tell me what does it mean and how to fix it?

  2. #2
    Road Train Member Pablo-UA's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Borispol, Ukraine
    Trucker?
    Trucking Industry
    Posts
    6,663
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked: 1,189 Times
    of course bad wiring harness

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Pablo-UA For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Light Load Member
    Member Since
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Trucker?
    5 Years
    Posts
    220
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked: 19 Times
    Pablo, which wiring I have to change?? all of them??

  5. #4
    Road Train Member Pablo-UA's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Borispol, Ukraine
    Trucker?
    Trucking Industry
    Posts
    6,663
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked: 1,189 Times
    J1939 data link issues are usually related with bad power supply of EECU, VECO ore TCU. what are fault codes in other control units?

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Pablo-UA For This Useful Post:


  7. #5
    Light Load Member
    Member Since
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Trucker?
    5 Years
    Posts
    220
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked: 19 Times
    I got one more in vehicle control unit - MID144 SID231 FM2

    another code was with temperature sensor on first rear axle and

    another about road speed inaccurate or something like that..

    once got communication or data link with transmission error. I cleared them all so cant tell exactly what codes I got

    I noticed that transmission is having problems with shifting from 1 to 2 gear and less often from 2 to 3 gear.. sometimes it tries to shift 3-4 times

    will check for exact codes tomorrow

  8. #6
    Road Train Member Pablo-UA's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Borispol, Ukraine
    Trucker?
    Trucking Industry
    Posts
    6,663
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked: 1,189 Times
    when VECU reads wrong road speed engine ECU limits power

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Pablo-UA For This Useful Post:


  10. #7
    Light Load Member
    Member Since
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Trucker?
    5 Years
    Posts
    220
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked: 19 Times
    the only code I found today was MID140 PID77 FMI 5 ..

    how can I fix road speed error? should I change speed sensor on the transmission?

  11. #8
    Road Train Member Pablo-UA's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Borispol, Ukraine
    Trucker?
    Trucking Industry
    Posts
    6,663
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked: 1,189 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by bravoo67 View Post
    the only code I found today was MID140 PID77 FMI 5 ..

    how can I fix road speed error? should I change speed sensor on the transmission?
    first of all check VSS connectors and VSS wiring, on some Version-2 trucks two VSS sensors are used, one for VECU, other for EECU. To be sure read EECU parameters with Insite software, if speed sourse is Magnetic sensor - you have two VSSs if speed sourse is J1939 - one VSS connected to VECU.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Pablo-UA For This Useful Post:


  13. #9
    Light Load Member
    Member Since
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Trucker?
    5 Years
    Posts
    220
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked: 19 Times
    Pablo can you help me ? I was trying to check some parameters on my volvo with vcads.. cant get in to crank and camshaft sensors.. vcads says system is busy try later.. power supply on both ecu and vecu shows little over 12v,

    I did 1000 miles and got only one code: MID144 PSID200 FMI9 .. it showed once and is inactive but maybe that is the problem of my enormous fuel consumption which is 4.5 mpg locally.. is it bad wiring ..

    where should I start to look??

    thank you for any information

  14. #10
    Road Train Member Pablo-UA's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Borispol, Ukraine
    Trucker?
    Trucking Industry
    Posts
    6,663
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked: 1,189 Times
    cam sensor you can see in Values Monitoring as engine speed. Crank sensor is used for cyl. ballansing test

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Pablo-UA For This Useful Post:


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •