Fresh out of school..

Discussion in 'Car Hauler and Auto Carrier Trucking Forum' started by Coach Flaps, Sep 18, 2016.

1. Coach Flaps

Coach Flaps Bobtail Member

Sep 5, 2016
    Baltimore, MD
    Ok guys... long time reader and spectator here and I have a few questions..

So, I just graduated and got my cdl license on august 23rd. I've been shopping around and trying to exhaust all of my local opportunities before I'm forced to hit the road. Before I thought of anything class A related, I've been towing cars with flatbeds/wheel lifts for the past 6 years... so I know pretty much everything about securement... Here's my situation... I was offered a full time position at a local car carrier that is willing to train me... really all i need is time behind the wheel...everything else will come in time. The pay is 21/hr, plenty of OT, full benefits, discounts, raises after 1 yr... not commission or cpm... Do you guys think this is decent? Being a recent grad? Also, I will have a team member/mentor with me on most days, and it is 7 car carrier.... Is this career-worthy? or should I just get my feet wet for 6 months and move on? I still have coca-cola, gordon, and TMC waiting for me to give them start dates.. but I've been dealing with cars for so long that I wanna keep it that way. Any wisdom or open opinions are welcomed... I'm just trying to get an idea or some guidance because i don't want to waste my time if the car hauling industry isn't as rewarding as I thought it'd be.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. magoo68

magoo68 Road Train Member

Jun 11, 2011
    st malo mb canada
    That's better than most highway guys would make .. You would be a fool not to take it

Coach Flaps Thanks this.
  4. Coach Flaps

Sep 5, 2016
    Baltimore, MD
    So I'd be wasting my time hitting the road with a larger carrier, basically?

5. Terry270

Terry270 Road Train Member

Jan 21, 2014