Newbie question, what dipsticks are these?

Discussion in 'Mack Forum' started by Fredy, Aug 3, 2016.

1. Fredy

Fredy Light Load Member

Feb 11, 2016
    Washington, D.C
    Hi all and thanks for taking a look. I am really new to mack trucks and just wanted to be sure about these dipsticks on a 02 CV713. The big one is the motor oil and yellow is transmission correct?

The big, metal is supposed to be
    http://www.raneystruckparts.com/mack-engine-oil-dipstick-795gb377a/
    Because mine its just a metal cap.

Thank you for your help!

Attached Files:

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. supersnackbar

supersnackbar Road Train Member

Aug 19, 2007
    Your Town, USA
    The yellow is the dipstick, the metal is ths cap for the place you add oil...it has a rubber plug that expands when you tighten the "t" handle. At least that is what it looks like from the pic.

Fredy and x1Heavy Thank this.
  4. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    I think the yellow is the dipstick and the large metal cap is where you add oil for sure.

Im leery of that yellow dipstick... probably because you have this huge oil fill cap that needs screwing tight to prevent oil loss by the gallon (Been there done that) And then this little dipstick with nothing securing it except a little tension on the punch handle.

Fredy Thanks this.
  5. Fredy

Fredy Light Load Member

Feb 11, 2016
    Washington, D.C
    Ok great, now I need to find the transmission oil dipstick. Any idea where that might be around this truck?

6. x1Heavy

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    I will spend some time googling for the truck's owners manual, you would think if you have this manual will be able to answer these questions.