“Contractor vs Employee”

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by retardo, Aug 23, 2018.

1. retardo

retardo Bobtail Member

Aug 16, 2010
    So yesterday, I was told that as long as my door says “XYZ Transport”, I was going to do what I was told. I argued the fact that I was a contractor and nothing in my lease agreement states hat I must follow company policy, us drivers are curious as to what rights we have? I’m paid 1099, own my truck but pulling their trailer. Anybody else ever been in a situation like this?

...not a troll...we got a meeting tomorrow and curious how we should all handle it.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. TheyCallMeDave

TheyCallMeDave Heavy Load Member

Dec 17, 2014
    Tejas
    So I'm assuming your leasing you truck from said company, and pulling their trailer? (Lease purchase?)

Last edited: Aug 23, 2018
  4. 062

062 Road Train Member

Oct 20, 2013
    Find a better place to sign the truck on.

5. Long FLD

Long FLD Road Train Member

Mar 4, 2015
    Are you running on their authority? Probably comes down to what is spelled out in the contract you signed.

6. brian991219

brian991219 Road Train Member

Aug 10, 2013
    Lords Valley, PA
    It is a delicate balance. True, as an independent contractor you have the right to refuse loads, complete the service how you see fit and such. If their name and DOT number is on your truck though, you also must fully qualify and comply with their company policies.

The FMCSA does not look at your truck, or you the driver, as any different than if you were an employee of XYZ and they owned the truck. They are legally liable for you and therefore can compel you to comply with their safety policies. This does not interfere with the independent contractor nature of your business agreement.

7. ZVar

ZVar Road Train Member

Sep 10, 2010
    Flint, MI