1099 help

Discussion in 'Trucker Taxes and Truck Financing' started by ROADxDOG, Mar 13, 2019.

1. ROADxDOG

ROADxDOG Bobtail Member

Mar 13, 2019
    Hello im new to this forum and would like help and feedback from others i have done some searching on this forum but havent found a clear answer. Ok I was a 1099 Trucker for like 3 months out of 2018 and im filing my own tax return to try and save because i know i will have to pay. Im using freetaxusa.com and while filing out info it asks i get to the DOT meal allowance it asks for total price meals paid for 2018 and upon further research i came across $63 per day allowance. No meals where reimbursed by owner of the company but I would not come near $63 per day just breakfast and lunch and a few snacks before hitting the rack. I suppose irs considera meals as being something like paying for breakfast and lunch I would like to say snacks as well but im thinking no. So in claiming the DOT meal allowance do i add up all meals paid for while away from home and since i dont have reciepts or not all of them will irs accept bank statements if i get an audit or what are the possibilities of an audit...

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Makeajump

Makeajump Medium Load Member

Apr 19, 2014
    Texas
    If audited you will have to produce receipts for anything claimed or it will be disallowed......

4. Ridgeline

Ridgeline Road Train Member

Dec 18, 2011
    Michigan
    To simplify this for the op, you take the days out and logged away from your terminal, add them up, multiply it by $63 (I thought it was $68 now) and then multiply that by .8

This is what you can write off as per diem. You do not need receipts.

This is how it is done, these free tax things are not good for drivers.

Also this only happens if you are filing without the standard deduction.

highwayMike and Omega1 Thank this.
  5. Opus

Opus Road Train Member