2012 maxxforce 13 boost surging

Discussion in 'International Forum' started by RickieBrent, Oct 12, 2017.

1. RickieBrent

RickieBrent Bobtail Member

Oct 12, 2017
    This engine is dpf/egr free now, I have a scan gauge to readout alternative gauges. The truck is surging really bad under any circumstance, loaded/ unloaded. The boost psi is jumping from high 30s, to high 20s. It did this before a half day, but then never again until now and is constant. Is there a common problem I could go straight to and check or just a turbo failure coming? And the surging doesn't seem to start until 9/10 gears, and then it seems like it's the entire rpm range. Any experience with a similar problem or a where to start would be very helpful. I'm new to the diesel world.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Heavyd

Heavyd Road Train Member

Feb 4, 2009
    See if the boost pressure shows anything with the key on and engine off. May just be a sensor or wiring.

4. RickieBrent

Oct 12, 2017
    reading 0.1 psi key on/ engine off. The engine itself is surging, not just the gauge, not sure if I got that across right in the original. I can hear the turbo coming in and out if that makes sense, and I hear what i assume the bov (if the heavy trucks have) from time to time while it's surging hard. Similar to like a intake backfire.

5. tnevin225

tnevin225 Road Train Member

Jan 1, 2014
    I got a question. Since you have done a delete of the EGR/DPF who do you take it to when you break down on the road? No dealer will touch it.:eek:

6. RickieBrent

Oct 12, 2017
    I only do local hauling, and you can still get any parts you need? If it gets to that point I'm sure I could find a maxxforce part out and put a used dpf and ecm back on to sell or whatever.

7. RickieBrent

Oct 12, 2017