ADHERENCE TO CSA 2010 CAUSES DRIVERS TO BE PRESSURED BY CARRIERS TO VOLUNTARY QUIT JOBS OR BE FIRED

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by STEPCHILD1, Feb 20, 2017.

1. STEPCHILD1

STEPCHILD1 Bobtail Member

Jul 26, 2007
    GEORGIA
    I've been driving tractor trailers in the industry since 1990.

Used to, all a truck driver had to worry about is keeping their logbook straight and not speeding, having an collision or becoming not medically fit.

If there was something wrong with the unit like lights, annual inspection, tires, registration etc. being not in order, the Motor Carriers had the greatest penalty and weight to correct these item.

Used to, if I found myself working for a Carrier where I was being forced to drive a vehicle with violations, that the Carrier would not correct timely after I had repeatedly wrote up said vehicle. Then I could stop at the D.O.T. Scales and have truck enforcement, force the Carrier to comply with no negative action taken towards me by D.O.T. to resolve the issue.

Now since CSA 2010 has come in effect, I have to refused to drive the commercial vehicle until the Carrier correct violations I write up.

Now if I take faulty vehicle to D.O.T. Scales and have truck enforcement, force the Carrier to comply, negative action is still taken towards me too, resulting in points on my record thereby jeopardizing my livelihood.

I have to attempt to protect my livelihood by not get points on my record or causing a fatality on the roadways.

But now after governing myself this way, I'm finding that once I keep refusing to drive a faulty vehicle and adhere to D.O.T. highway safety regulations, I am constantly talk down to Cust at and my miles, hrs or home time, are being cut as retaliation by the Carriers thereby pressuring me to quit my job voluntarily or they are making up something that didn't happen to terminate me from my job.

When I complaint to the Department of Labor or FMCSA nothing happens favorable for me.