Advice for Choosing Second Trucking Company

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by wwest, Jan 26, 2014.

1. wwest

wwest Bobtail Member

Jan 26, 2014
    Harrison, AR
    What They Didn't Teach Me at Roadmaster :Monkey wrench:

I chose Roadmaster and paid their high rate because so long as you're willing to work, they will go out of their way to make sure you get your CDL. However, now that I've had some experience, it's obvious that Roadmaster failed to teach me the most important course of all - how to pick your first trucking company.

Having parted from my first company, I suddenly see things on trucking websites that I never saw before. For example: "We don't do forced teaming." If you don't know what forced teaming is (I do now) then you don't actually realize what you're reading. Other students are no help either.

Ok, so now I know ONE of the things I should look out for in the future.

I also know that the per/mile rate is meaningless unless you know the top speed the fleet trucks are governed at. (There's also the question of whether you'll even get any miles but, as you know, that's another matter).

What other common deciding factors would a knowledgeable truck driver take into account when questioning a prospective company?

(As usual, there are other issues, but let's just start with the basics first, please).

THANKS! :biggrin_25525:

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. 77smartin

77smartin Road Train Member

Apr 3, 2011
    I dunno.
    Can they get you home.

4. TripleSix

TripleSix God of Roads

Apr 10, 2009
    Copied in Hell
    Okay, besides hold a steeringwheel, what is your long term goal? What wagon do you want to pull? We need you, the OP,the original poster, to be more specific. Do you want to be local? Go sit in the local section. Owner operator? Go sit in the owner OP section. Oil field? Tanker yanker? What?