Any who use the phyical standards test discrimation

Discussion in 'Report A BAD Trucking Company Here' started by The Patriot, Jan 26, 2016.

1. The Patriot

The Patriot Heavy Load Member

Oct 9, 2014
    Greenville,Ohio
    Wanted to address this when a member here and I had a conversation but I had to make the time to apply at a few of the megas to get their responses firsthand as I am a slightly disabled war veteran. First you should know that I am listed as disabled to a small degree having been shot through a shoulder in the conflict in Afghanistan in 2003. I can pass any DOT physical with flying colors....perform duties as a commercial driver but cannot put say over 40 lbs on my left arm as it will start shaking and lose grip due to my disability. Three companies which I will name...Dart...Swift and Marten transport...even when reminded of the Veterans and the Americans with disabilities act actually said they can use "any means" they want in their hiring process. One company Werner... stated they would waive any such test and other than job specific would not test using the "non sense" that others do. So I have to give Werner credit....also stating how they value US veterans. For the record my company does not use this practice and as far as I am aware will not in the future.
    I am going to continue to apply at more to find out if they openly use discrimination in their practices...also have been ask by Wounded Warriors to share my findings as well as a couple of legal minded veterans advocacy groups.
    If any of you have a disability either as a veteran or not please post the company to which you feel you were discriminated by and I will try to do a follow up. This not only effects the industry but is a criminal and shameless act that cannot be allowed to continue.
    For those unaware of the law please read.
    http://www.eeoc.gov/eeoc/publications/ada_veterans_employers.cfm

Last edited: Jan 26, 2016