Anyone else deal with this...

Discussion in 'ELD Forum | Questions, Answers and Reviews' started by Littledreamer2224, Aug 29, 2021.

1. Littledreamer2224

Littledreamer2224 Bobtail Member

Aug 29, 2021
    I am new to this trucking forum. I am a DOT compliance coordinator of whom I work for a particular company as safety consultants. So I am a compliance coordinator consultant for a trucking company out of northern Colorado. I admit I'm a bit new in this position so I'm still learning DOT compliance, but I understand a lot.
    There's a few things that the trucking company I consult for is doing that I've seriously questioned the legality of.
    One of the main concerns I want to get answers for if possible is that some of the job sites that the trucking company works at has the drivers driving a non-CMV from the reporting yard to the job site, then they swap drivers in the truck and work their shift then at the end of their shift they drive the non-cmv vehicle back to the yard. What's happening is they are stretching out their hours to 14 hours and they still have an hour to drive back to the yard, so most days these drivers are driving well over 16 hours a day even though 2 hours of that day is in a non-cmv vehicle so they are not regulated. The drivers have come to me with concerns in regards to safety as they are driving exhausted at the end of their day. For me to help show the company that this is illegal and a huge safety concern, what are some options to work around this? I know of the oil field exemption which will help with that but it still put in the drivers on duty for 14 plus hours each day as they're getting paid for their drive time to and from the job site and the drivers are still exhausted and it still a safety issue. Does anybody have any recommendations?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. xsetra

xsetra Road Train Member

Aug 21, 2011