BIO PAPPEL aka McKinley Paper in Prewitt, NM

Discussion in 'Shippers & Receivers - Good or Bad' started by CDL Noob, Jan 29, 2019.

1. CDL Noob

CDL Noob Light Load Member

Oct 4, 2018
    My team partner and I got a load offering at the SAFEWAY DC in Denver. It was a load of crushed cardboard going to BIO PAPPEL in Prewitt, NM. We took the load, it was a simple drop and hook with a live unload at the other end.

I looked at Google earth to zoom in on the address and then made the mistake of reading the reviews from drivers. All of them were negative, especially about the rent-a-cops at the gate which also controlled access to a powerplant on the same property.

I am a retired cop...so I have no special love for mall ninjas, but I also figure..."Hey, they are working folks too".

Anyway, we got to the final...and everyone from the security office to the dock were polite, professional, and courteous. The unload went off without a hitch, and we were on our way within an hour from check in to green light.

The only negative was the smell (paper mills stink), and the dock was tight, but not "hard".

So, based upon my experience....I give them 4.5/5 stars.

kakk86 Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. kakk86

kakk86 Light Load Member

Jul 16, 2017
    Virginia
    I've been there several times and it's always great, you just can't get there too early. I even had another driver tell me how horrible it was to go there.

CDL Noob Thanks this.
  4. JC1971

JC1971 Road Train Member

Jul 29, 2013
    L.A.
    I was in and out of there pretty quick. That was at nighttime, though. The powerplant owns the land where the dirt parking lot at the front gate is located and won't allow overnight parking. Jagoffs.

5. drvrtech77

drvrtech77 Road Train Member

Mar 20, 2010
    I've been there once never again...bunch of rent a cops on power trip..

6. cuzzin it