brake chamber leaking from rear when brakes applied

Discussion in 'Trucks [ Eighteen Wheelers ]' started by TowHaul, Oct 15, 2017.

1. TowHaul

TowHaul Medium Load Member

Mar 7, 2016
    i just installed the new brake chambers on the single drive axle on my truck. I go to apply brakes and i notice air is leaking out of the driver side chamber rear of the pot. The slack adjuster is moving . The other brake chamber on the passanger side drive axle is not moving and no air is escaping. While applying brakes the air continues to expel out to the rear of the brake chamber until i lose all air pressure. The air brakes also do not appear to be holding the truck very strudy when in park (I can still roll forward or backwards with parking brake on). The parking brake issue was known before i installed t he new chambers... did i do a installation wrong (yes i'm a total newbie) or is there another problem with the air system or rear part of the chamber(s?)?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. BoxCarKidd

BoxCarKidd Road Train Member

Aug 26, 2014
    A brake chamber should never leak air out of the service or parking brake system. You could have other problems but sounds like a bad new chamber to me.

Bean Jr. and AModelCat Thank this.
  4. TowHaul

Mar 7, 2016
    the one that is leaking, is expelling air out of the REAR of the chamber (i only installed the front half brand new) the entire time i hold my foot on the brake. It also has the arm of the slack adjuster moving, the arm on the other brake chamber is not moving, nor is it leaking any air. What does this mean? The front halfs of the chambers are brand new on both sides. Did i install it wrong? is the rear part broken? Did I uncage incorrectly? somehow buy a faulty one?

5. AModelCat

AModelCat Road Train Member

Jul 7, 2015
    Canuckistan