Can any state pull your CDL for dui from 15yr before you got your CDL? They just did!!!!

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by carptransport, Jul 23, 2020.

can you get a cdl with 2 prior duis, over 10 years old..

  1. yes

    14 vote(s)
    56.0%
  2. no

    11 vote(s)
    44.0%
  1. Cat sdp

    Cat sdp . .

    11,875
    24,156
    Apr 8, 2012
    Orion's Belt
    0
    Well that case you were taking about was the top news story for weeks up here.

    I not sure but that guy wasn’t even supposed to be in the country ... never mind have a cdl
     
    T.Rucker Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

    Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

    Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

  3. carptransport

    carptransport Light Load Member

    63
    61
    Dec 11, 2018
    Port Saint Lucie, FL
    0
    i know i heard, a relatives close friend is actually one of the killed bikers,
    he had multiple dui in different states and was a MA CDL correct?
     
  4. dibstr

    dibstr Road Train Member

    1,219
    800
    Sep 10, 2010
    Mississippi
    0
    Actually they can but it depends. Florida can suspend you based on another state’s input, but only if Florida law would suspend you for the same violation were committed in Florida. Since the DUIs were committed in Florida and Florida did not suspend you on their own then they do not have to honor a suspension based on what Mass is saying. As I said before, they will ping pong you back and forth each saying the other is the only one that can fix it. Your best chance at a quick fix is to contact someone high up in the administrative chain.

    I am unclear whether your license is withdrawn, suspended or what. Do you have the code for the action? For example withdrawn=W01 or W60, W61 etc?
     
    Accidental Trucker Thanks this.
  5. carptransport

    carptransport Light Load Member

    63
    61
    Dec 11, 2018
    Port Saint Lucie, FL
    0
    yes it was a w40 for 2 or more major offenses, withdrawn, by mass

    which to florida would be reason to disqualify, but the dui are not considered major offense here in fl if i didnt have a cdl or a cmv back then
     
  6. snowwy

    snowwy Road Train Member

    17,699
    9,671
    Jul 6, 2009
    0
    If you google you will get lots of threads that say you can get it after 10 years or whatever.

    Best bet would be to call roadlaw or interstate truckers. And see what they say.

    They could offer better advice then the forum.

    We're not in your shoes and really don't have a clue.
     
    carptransport Thanks this.
  7. dibstr

    dibstr Road Train Member

    1,219
    800
    Sep 10, 2010
    Mississippi
    0
    Ok, I kind of see what is happening. You had 2 DUIs in Fl on your FL non-Commercial license. You then went back To Mass and got a Mass license. Mass prohibits a person with 2 DUIs from getting a CDL in any type vehicle with any type license for life (At least they don’t mention license type). When you got your Mass license your Florida driver history followed you and you were CDL disqualified in Mass.

    The disqualification is state (Mass) specific. The W40 code is for federal disqualifications and yours was not a federal disqualification, it was state specific. It should have been coded as W01. Mass has to fix this.
     
  8. Powder Joints

    Powder Joints Subjective Prognosticator

    6,572
    5,697
    Sep 25, 2007
    Rosamond, SoCal
    0
     
  9. Powder Joints

    Powder Joints Subjective Prognosticator

    6,572
    5,697
    Sep 25, 2007
    Rosamond, SoCal
    0
    Did read the post,just don't believe that is all there is too it. DUI after 10 years should have no affect on your cdl unless there's extenuating circumstance(s). So for a state you just happen to be driving thru to go all that work, something would have to trigger it.
     
  10. TokyoJoe

    TokyoJoe Medium Load Member

    674
    1,812
    Feb 10, 2015
    0
    I'd at least talk to a Florida lawyer to find out about how to sue the state of Florida for shutting down your license to work for no actual reason during Covid19 when you can't even fight it, after allowing you to get the license legally and then you purchase a truck, trailer and all of your business expenses, house etc.

    Just go in in like a woman pissed off because her ex husband doesn't wanna pay 1/2 his money so she can sit around every day.

    Talk to your local tv station, call into some radio hosts, I'm sure that somebody would turn this into a huge story because if what you are saying is true it's complete horse ####.

    Think about it, the socialist state of Massachusetts is now writing the law in other states. Based off of their own negligence in dealing with their own drunk driver who killed a bunch of people.
     
    T.Rucker and inandoutoftrouble Thank this.
  11. inandoutoftrouble

    inandoutoftrouble Road Train Member

    3,816
    3,327
    Sep 20, 2012
    Wichita KS
    0
    You hit the nail on the head.

    God bless every American and their families! God bless the U.S.A.!
     
  • Truckers Report Jobs

    Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

    Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

  • Draft saved Draft deleted