Career Change and Advice

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by cire_tnarb, May 22, 2024.

1. cire_tnarb

cire_tnarb Bobtail Member

May 22, 2024
    Hey everyone, I've been needing a career change and want to better myself financially and give me the ability to acquire benefits and insurance that aren't readily available to me where I'm currently working. I have been cooking on and off for 16 years and although it is fun and i enjoy it, I'm ready for a change.

I drove Non CDL box trucks years ago all over PA for almost 3 years picking up scrap tires and when I got back from my route i would be using a day cab or a jockey to move trailers at the docks for loading and unloading and parked in the yard for pickup. So I'm not a complete stranger to being around big trucks and backing them up was always easy for me. Along with a few family members that have their Class A and been driving for years i have a good support system and people to call on if needed. I have been browsing this forum the past few months while I acquired my Class A Permit and i have my TWIC card with plans to add my Tanker and Hazmat endorsements as soon as I can to give me more options. The idea of going OTR has always been something i wanted to experience for a little while and going to the local school is possible but I want to get away for a while and see parts of the country I haven't been too.

I live in Connecticut currently but I'm not tied down here at all so I'm open to going almost anywhere. I'm looking to try and start around September/October to give my job time to find and train my replacement as i have been there for 4 years and responsible for a lot. I have a great relationship with the Owner and Chef and don't want to leave them in a bad spot during our really busy season.