CDL School vs Self Taught...

Discussion in 'Trucking Schools and CDL Training Forum' started by Fronningen, Sep 10, 2017.

1. Fronningen

Fronningen Bobtail Member

Aug 15, 2017
    Battle Lake, MN
    I got to thinking, as I too often do to my friends and family's frustration at times, what are the pros and cons of CDL school vs self taught CDL training? I personally just read the manual on my own time, passed GK, Combo, Air Brakes, Tanker and Hazmat all on the first try. I had a seasonal CDL that I had driven around 3,000 miles in a straight truck with, (I'm not saying that's a ton of miles), so tractor trailer was like driving a straight truck with a fifth wheel. Pretty simple. I only drove a tractor trailer 3 times before I took and passed the road test. Scratch that, 2 times and 1 backing session. (Not trying to toot my own horn) So in my mind, I'm thinking, why should people pay thousands of dollars to get the training I essentially figured out with limited help? Obviously some situations make cdl school the only option, or best option, but why would someone choose trucking school if they could self teach? But back to the question, pros and cons of CDL School vs Self Taught?

Last edited: Sep 10, 2017
    Reason for edit: I wanted to.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Mattflat362

Mattflat362 Road Train Member

Feb 18, 2015
    Avon Lake, Ohio
    Easy answer.....MOST people...almost all.....are not able and should not be allowed!! LOL.

Bakerman Thanks this.
  4. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient