Clean Level 2 with Ticket - advice needed

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by TNKID222, Apr 16, 2019.

1. TNKID222

TNKID222 Bobtail Member

Apr 16, 2019
    I'm a driver for a fleet owner leased to another company. I got pulled over after passing through the scales in MS. I was given a level 2 on the ramp. At the end, he said he assumed I didn't know I had a recap coming off the trailer. I confirmed I didn't. I had been driving about 250 miles since my last walk around. He said he did me a favor and handed me a ticket for a blown tire and a clean inspection then told me to go on and have it fixed down the road. Neither the truck owner or the company, which owns the trailer, will pay it ($253). Should I pay it and be thankful or fight it?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    I'd ignore it. Let the company fix it when you get back. If you're really nervous about it and it's an outside tire, just rotate it to the inside and let the company deal with it when you return.

4. TNKID222

TNKID222 Bobtail Member

Apr 16, 2019
    I had the tire replaced within 2 hours. Its the ticket and fine I'm concerned about.

Chinatown Thanks this.
  5. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    @Moose1958 can probably give you a better answer then.

6. laaylor

laaylor Road Train Member

Oct 16, 2007
    Creston, Wa
    Pay it: it’s not worth the trouble you will get in if you don’t.. then, reconsider your employment situation.. but, any ticket a driver usually gets is his...,.

7. TripleSix

TripleSix God of Roads

Apr 10, 2009
    Copied in Hell
    Yessir, he did you a favor. A bad tire will get you more CSA points than being at fault at a fatal accident.

8. snowwy

snowwy Road Train Member

Jul 6, 2009